Home Cricket News IND vs AUS: Australia Announce ODI Squad To Face India

IND vs AUS: Australia Announce ODI Squad To Face India

IND vs AUS: Australia Announce ODI Squad To Face India

Australia announced 16 members One-day international squad to face India in a 3-match series starting from 17 March 2023.

Pat Cummins will begin his One-day international captaincy stint after Aaron Finch decided to retire from international cricket. The major inclusion in this squad is all-rounder Glenn Maxwell and Mitchell Marsh returns after a long injury layoff.

David Warner will also make a comeback after being ruled out of the 3rd and 4th Test matches. Travis Head and Warner would open the innings for Australia, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, and Marcus Stoinis comprise the middle order.

Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell, and Marcus Stoinis are the all-rounders included in the squad. Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Jhye Richardson, and Sean Abbott would consist of pace bowling options. Ashton Agar, Adam Zampa, and Glenn Maxwell will consist of spin bowling options.

These three matches are a good preparation for the Australian team to get used to the conditions that would prevail in the 2023 50-over World Cup.

Australia T20 World Cup 2022
Australia are the reigning T20 World Cup champions.

“With the World Cup just over seven months away, these matches in India are an important step in our preparation,” Bailey said.

“It would be great for Josh to be part of this series, but we have taken a conservative view ahead of a very important winter in England of which he will be an integral part,” Bailey further added.

Australia would look to get the things in 3 match ODI series against a strong Indian unit. The last time, Australia visited India for the ODI series, the Kangaroos won the first ODI easily at Mumbai before losing the next two matches in Rajkot and Bengaluru to lose the series 1-2.

Australia will take on India in the first match at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on 17 March before the second ODI to be played at Vizag on 19 and the final ODI match to be played at M Chidadram Stadium, Chennai on 22 March 2023.

Australia ODI squad:

David Warner, Travis Head, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Inglis, Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins (C), Sean Abbott, Jhye Richardson, Adam Zampa, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Starc

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts