Home Cricket News IPL 2024: Kolkata Knight Riders Lifts IPL Trophy For The 3rd Time

IPL 2024: Kolkata Knight Riders Lifts IPL Trophy For The 3rd Time

IPL 2024: Kolkata Knight Riders Lifts IPL Trophy For The 3rd Time

The Kolkata Knight Riders clinched their third title with a dominant performance against SunRisers in what became the most one-sided final in IPL history. Venkatesh Iyer’s explosive fifty and comprehensive bowling display propelled KKR to a resounding victory over SRH in Chennai on Sunday, May 26.

KKR bowled out Pat Cummins’s side for a mere 113 runs and then chased the target with ease, needing only 57 balls and losing just two wickets. This overwhelming win also made the IPL 2024 final the shortest in terms of overs played.

Shreyas Iyer joined the ranks of successful KKR captains, becoming the second after Gautam Gambhir, who won titles in 2012 and 2014 and was present as a mentor. Iyer is now one of only five Indian captains to have led a team to IPL victory, alongside MS Dhoni, Gambhir, Rohit Sharma, and Hardik Pandya.

With their third championship, KKR solidified their position as one of the IPL’s top teams, trailing only Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians, who have five titles each.

Here are some of the Twitter Reactions:



In contrast, Pat Cummins faced his first major tournament final defeat in over a year, following successful campaigns with Australia in the World Test Championship and the World Cup final. KKR’s comprehensive win marked their third triumph over SunRisers in the 2024 season.

Mitchell Starc spearheaded the dismantling of SRH’s top order, and Andre Russell, participating in his first final for KKR, led the bowling attack with three wickets. Venkatesh Iyer’s quick-fire fifty from 24 balls devastated SRH’s bowlers and set the tone for KKR’s chase.

Despite SRH’s reputation for power-hitting and their record-breaking 287-run total earlier in the season, they crumbled on the final day, managing only 113 runs, the lowest total ever in an IPL final. This was a stark contrast to their explosive performance in Delhi where they scored 125 runs in the powerplay.

Key players like Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma failed to deliver, and Cummins’s lone effort with 24 runs couldn’t save them. Aiden Markram and Heinrich Klaasen struggled under pressure as KKR’s bowlers maintained relentless pressure, preventing any recovery for SRH.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts