Home Cricket News IPL 2024: Mumbai Indians Become First Team To Be Knocked Out Of The Tournament

IPL 2024: Mumbai Indians Become First Team To Be Knocked Out Of The Tournament

IPL 2024: Mumbai Indians Become First Team To Be Knocked Out Of The Tournament
IPL 2024

Mumbai Indians’ journey of qualifying ended with a disappointing 24-run loss to Kolkata Knight Riders at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on 3rd May 2024.

Needing a win to stay alive in the tournament, MI captain Hardik Pandya won the toss and decided to field first. It was an ideal start for MI as Nuwan Thusara got the initial three wickets getting rid of Phil Salt, Aditya Raghuvanshi, and captain Shreyas Iyer. Hardik Panda produced a superb delivery to dismiss Sunil Narine leaving KKR in trouble.

Right after the field restrictions, Piyush Chawla dismissed Rinku Singh with a return catch leaving KKR in massive trouble at 57 for 5. Hardik Pandya’s captaincy was not up to the mark as he decided to bring Naman Dhir and Piyush Chawla into the attack. Venkatesh Iyer and impact sub-Manish Pandey steadied the ship for KKR.

Venkatesh Iyer and Manish Pandey kept the scoreboard ticking not allowing the MI bowlers to settle. Hardik Pandya eventually got breakthrough dismissing Pandey. Manish Pandey and Venkatesh Iyer added 83 runs for the 6th wicket.

Jasprit Bumrah bowled with accuracy not allowing KKR batters to score runs easily. He picked the wickets of Ramandeep Singh and Mitchell Starc in the same over.

Venkatesh Iyer showed his class with fifty off just 36 balls that kept KKR’s hopes alive. Bumrah shattered the stumps of Venkatesh Iyer to bowl out KKR for 169. For MI, Thusara and Bumrah took 3 wickets each, Hardik Pandya took 2 wickets, and Piyush Chawla 1 wicket.

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians IPL 2024

Mumbai Indians batting woes continued

Chasing down 171 runs to win, it was not an ideal start for Mumbai Indians losing the wicket of Ishan Kishan. Naman Dhir and Rohit Sharma fell inside the first six overs leaving the MI team in big trouble.

Mumbai Indians kept losing wickets as Tilak Varma, Nehal Wadehra and Hardik Pandya fell cheaply to leave them in trouble at 71 for 6. Suryakumar Yadav showed intent with an aggressive style of play along with Tim David that kept MI’s hopes of winning.

Suryakumar Yadav looked composed reaching fifty off 30 deliveries. The match looked in MI’s grasp before Andre Russell struck getting the big wicket of Suryakumar Yadav with a good catch by Phil Salt. Suryakumar and Tim David added 49 runs for the 7th wicket.

The onus was on Tim David to finish the things for Mumbai Indians. Mitchell Starc delivered the goods dismissing Tim David, Piyush Chawla, and Coetzee in the same over to help KKR register their first win in Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai after a gap of 12 years.

Mumbai Indians are officially knocked out of the Indian Premier League 2024 after this loss. They played a total of 11 matches so far with only 3 wins and 8 losses. The three wins came against RCB, Punjab Kings, and Delhi Capitals.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts