Home Cricket News IPL 2024: Varun Chakaravarthy And Phil Salt Shine As KKR Beat DC Convincingly

IPL 2024: Varun Chakaravarthy And Phil Salt Shine As KKR Beat DC Convincingly

IPL 2024: Varun Chakaravarthy And Phil Salt Shine As KKR Beat DC Convincingly

In the 2024 Indian Premier League (IPL) match at Kolkata’s Eden Gardens on Monday, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) dominated Delhi Capitals (DC), winning by seven wickets with 21 balls to spare.

KKR maintained their second position in the points table with 12 points from nine matches, while DC remained in sixth place with 10 points from 11 games. Prithvi Shaw kicked off the match with three consecutive boundaries against Mitchell Starc.

However, in the following over, the diminutive batter nicked a delivery from Vaibhav Arora down the leg side. Fraser-McGurk showed his destructive prowess with a boundary and a six against Starc. However, Starc struck back, dismissing him with a sharp catch by Venkatesh Iyer.

In the next over, Vaibhav bowled a perfect delivery to remove Shai Hope. Pant and Porel then formed a partnership, launching a counter-attack and scoring some boundaries.

Harshit Rana bowled Porel, who was falling, shortly after the powerplay, breaking their 31-run partnership. Pant’s attempted sweep-scoop against Varun Chakaravarthy was dropped by Harshit at short third-man at 18 runs.

However, Varun later dismissed Pant, caught by skipper Shreyas Iyer, for 27 runs. Tristan Stubbs edged one behind to Philip Salt, giving Varun his second wicket. DC lost their sixth wicket before reaching 100 runs.

Axar Patel fell to Sunil Narine’s carrom ball, while Kumar Kushagra nicked one behind to Salt for Varun’s third wicket. Kuldeep Yadav’s 35 off 26 balls, with five fours and one six, helped DC post 153/9 in 20 overs.

KKR secured a 7-wicket victory over Delhi Capitals











Salt and Narine initiated the chase with their usual aggressive approach. Lizaad Williams had an expensive first over, conceding 23 runs, and then dropped a catch off Khaleel Ahmed’s first ball. Salt, after being dropped at 15, swiftly reached his fifty in 26 deliveries.

KKR powered to 79 runs at the end of the powerplay. Narine fell to Axar Patel in the seventh over, and Axar later dismissed Salt for 68, comprising seven fours and five sixes.

Rinku Singh was elevated to the number three position, and as Shreyas joined him, KKR reached the 100-run milestone by the ninth over.

Rinku’s innings was brief, as he scored 11 runs off as many balls before attempting a hoick off a short delivery from Williams, only to be caught at third man by Kuldeep. Shreyas and Venkatesh took on the DC spinners, stabilizing the innings after the quick dismissals.

The two Iyers guided KKR to a comfortable victory with a 57-run partnership. Shreyas remained unbeaten on 33, while Venkatesh finished on 26 not out, steering their team to victory with 21 balls remaining.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts