Home Cricket News IPL 2024: Virat Kohli Scores His 8th IPL Century

IPL 2024: Virat Kohli Scores His 8th IPL Century

IPL 2024: Virat Kohli Scores His 8th IPL Century
Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli scored the inaugural century of the ongoing IPL 2024 season for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Rajasthan Royals at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur on Saturday. Kohli achieved his century off 67 deliveries after RCB was asked to bat first. With this century, Kohli increased his record number of IPL hundreds to eight and a total of nine in his T20 career.

Kohli tops the list of batters with the most IPL centuries, having scored seven in his career. Last season, the 35-year-old Kohli registered two centuries while accumulating 639 runs in 14 matches. Additionally, this innings marked his highest score against RR in the IPL.

After eight seasons without a century, Kohli ended the drought by scoring a remarkable four centuries in the IPL 2016 season, where he led his team to the finals. Kohli amassed 973 runs during that season, setting a record that still stands as the benchmark in the league.




Who holds the record for the most centuries in IPL history?

Over the span of the Indian Premier League, a cumulative of 87 centuries have been achieved, beginning with the inaugural match of the league in 2008 when Kolkata Knight Riders’ Brendon McCullum struck 158 off 73 balls against the Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Kohli leads the pack with eight centuries, followed by his former RCB teammate Chris Gayle, who has six centuries to his credit, including his remarkable 175 against Pune Warriors India, the highest individual score in IPL history.

Gayle also holds the record for the fastest IPL hundred, achieved in just 30 balls. David Warner, Shane Watson, and KL Rahul each have four centuries to their name, while AB de Villiers, Sanju Samson, and Shubman Gill have three apiece.

In the 2023 season, a record 12 centuries were recorded by nine players, with Gill contributing three and Kohli two. Conversely, the lowest number of centuries in a single season occurred in 2009, with only two recorded.

The first Indian batter to achieve an IPL century was Manish Pandey, accomplishing this feat for RCB in the 2009 season. Punjab Kings, formerly known as Kings XI Punjab, boasts the highest number of centurions over the years, with 12 players scoring 14 centuries for the 2014 finalists.

Similarly, Rajasthan Royals have also produced 14 centuries among their players, distributed among seven batters.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts