Home Cricket News VVS Laxman Reveals Who Triggered The Revolution In India’s Fast Bowling

VVS Laxman Reveals Who Triggered The Revolution In India’s Fast Bowling

VVS Laxman-Rohit Sharma
VVS Laxman. (Photo Credit: SRH Twitter)

Former India cricketer VVS Laxman in a series of tweets has been showing his gratitude to India’s favourite sons. He has earlier heaped praise on Sachin Tendulkar, Anil Kumble, and Sourav Ganguly. On Thursday, VVS Laxman heaped praise on an old warhorse who he feels triggered a revolution in India’s fast bowling.

Meanwhile, the current Indian pace attack is arguably the best this country has ever witnessed. The likes of Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma have made steady progress playing a healthy role in the success. They have managed to change the notion that India don’t produce quality fast bowlers.

Javagal Srinath was a tearaway pacer: VVS Laxman

However, the revolution began much before, and according to VVS Laxman and it started with former India pacer Javagal Srinath. Praising the tall and lanky fast bowler, Laxman said Srinath’s hunger to perform in difficult condition made him the best in the business.

Javagal Srinath (Credit: Getty Images)

“A tearaway fast bowler from a relative cricketing outpost of Mysore, he triggered a revolution in Indian pace bowling. Even in most unhelpful conditions, he always responded to the team’s needs with unflinching zeal. Sri’s strength was his hunger to perform under adverse conditions,” tweeted Laxman.

Javagal Srinath, who made his international debut against Pakistan in October 1991, played 67 Tests and 229 ODIs for India in which he scalped 236 and 315 wickets respectively. When he retired from international cricket of 11 years in 2003, Srinath was second only to Kapil in number of Test wickets by an Indian paceman.

With a strong shoulder action, he hit the pitch with force, and bowled mainly in-cutters and inswingers, Srinath was outstanding on his day. Following his retirement, Javagal Srinath has been working with the International Cricket Council (ICC) as a match-referee.