Home Cricket News Kuldeep Yadav Departs For West Indies To Join Teammates Ahead Of T20Is vs West Indies

Kuldeep Yadav Departs For West Indies To Join Teammates Ahead Of T20Is vs West Indies

Kuldeep Yadav Departs For West Indies To Join Teammates Ahead Of T20Is vs West Indies
Kuldeep Yadav (Credit: Twitter)

Team India cricketer Kuldeep Yadav has left for West Indies to join the rest of squad ahead of T20I leg scheduled to take place later this month. The Men in Blue will lock horns with the hosts in a five-match T20I series, which gets underway on July 29 in Jamaica.

The left-arm spinner was not picked for the ongoing one-dayers, but was named in the squad for the T20I series against West Indies. While announcing the squad earlier this month, the BCCI had stated that the inclusion of Kuldeep is subject to fitness.

Incidentally, Kuldeep Yadav had sustained an injury to his right hand while batting in the nets last month. As a result, he missed the entire five-match T20I series against South Africa at home and headed to the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru for his rehabilitation.

Kuldeep has reportedly cleared the needed fitness test at the NCA to join the squad and has set off for West Indies. Kuldeep Yadav took to his official Instagram handle on Sunday (July 24), Kuldeep shared an image of himself heading to the West Indies for the T20Is. He posted the picture with the caption:

“See you soon Caribbean🏝Can’t wait to join my teammates and get going 🇮🇳✈️.”


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Kuldeep yadav 🇮🇳 (@kuldeep_18)

Kuldeep Yadav was last seen in action in IPL 2022 where he was in excellent form for the Delhi Capitals (DC) in IPL 2022. In 14 matches, he claimed 21 wickets at an average of 19.95 and an economy rate of 8.44.

India’s T20I squad for West Indies series

Regular captain Rohit Sharma, who was rested for the ODIs, will return to action during the five-match T20I series, which starts on July 29. Rishabh Pant and Hardik Pandya, who have also been rested from the ODIs, will return to action in the T20Is, too. However, Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah have been granted rest for the entire tour.

India will play five T20Is, starting July 29. Trinidad will host the first game of the series before the teams move to Saint Kitts and Nevis for the next two games. The caravan will then shift to Florida, USA, for the final two T20Is.

India’s squad for five T20Is: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul*, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates

Latest Posts