Home Cricket News Kumar Sangakkara To Lead MCC Squad For Pakistan Tour

Kumar Sangakkara To Lead MCC Squad For Pakistan Tour


Former Sri Lanka skipper Kumar Sangakkara will lead the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) during their upcoming tour of Pakistan next month. Veteran all-rounder Ravi Bopara will also be a part of the squad coached by Ajmal Shahzad.  

The 12-member squad includes two cricketers from Scotland – Safyaan Sharif and Michael Leask and two players from the Netherlands – Roelof van der Merwe and Fred Klaassen. The upcoming tour aims at easing out the fear of the international teams touring Pakistan in the wake of the 2009 terror attack on the Sri Lankan Cricket Team bus. 

Kumar Sangakkara to lead MCC

The assistant secretary of the MCC, John Stephenson said that they are excited to name a strong squad which has a good mixture of the youngsters and experience. He is also happy to collaborate with Pakistan Cricket Board and Pakistan Super League. 

Ravi Bopara. Credit: Getty Images

Read More: Jofra Archer Ruled Out Of the T20I Series Against South Africa

"We are thrilled to be able to name a strong squad for this tour, which blends youth and experience for a strong side of high quality," Stephenson said. "We have really appreciated the collaborative approach from the Pakistan Cricket Board and the Pakistan Super League, which has enabled us to arrange fixtures against sides preparing for this year's PSL tournament as well as to secure the services of some of those participating," he added. 

MCC are set to play against Lahore Qalandars and Multan Sultans apart from Northerns – the domestic T20 title winners. 

MCC Squad

Kumar Sangakkara (capt), Ravi Bopara, Michael Burgess, Oliver Hannon-Dalby, Fred Klaassen, Michael Leask, Arron Lilley, Imran Qayyum, Will Rhodes, Safyaan Sharif, Roelof van der Merwe, Ross Whiteley

Latest Posts