Home Cricket News New Zealand Announce 14-Member Squad For The ODI Series Against India

New Zealand Announce 14-Member Squad For The ODI Series Against India


New Zealand have named a revamped pace-bowling attack for the upcoming three-match One-Day International series against India starting from February 5. The home side will miss the first-choice seamers Trent Boult, Matt Henry and Lockie Ferguson due to injury. As a result, they have called up uncapped pacer Kyle Jamieson against the heavyweights. 

While Matt Henry is down with a broken thumb, Boult and Ferguson are out with a broken hand and a calf strain respectively. Scott Kuggeleijn, Hamish Bennett, and Jamieson will form the pace attack led by Tim Southee against the likes of Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and KL Rahul. Kuggelejin has so far played only two ODIs for New Zealand whereas Bennett has played 16. Both these seamers played their most recent ODIs almost three years ago in 2017.

New Zealand Cricket Team. Credit: Getty Images

Read More: Jofra Archer ruled out of the T20I series against South Africa

On the other hand, Ish Sodhi will feature only in the first ODI and will be released from the squad for New Zealand A's four-day match against India A. On the batting front, Henry Nicholls will continue to open the innings alongside Martin Guptill while skipper Kane Williamson will bat at 3. The management has retained the batting unit that played in the World Cup. 

Head coach Gary Stead stated the upcoming series will be a perfect opportunity for the young bowlers to make a mark against some of the best batters in the world. This will be New Zealand's first ODI series since the World Cup and they will hope to make a sound start. 

Gary Stead with Kane Williamson. Credit: Getty Images

Read More: Kumar Sangakkara to lead MCC squad for the Pakistan tour

"Tim Southee has an important job leading our new-look pace attack, which has a huge opportunity against some of the very best batsmen in the world," coach Gary Stead said. "While the bowling lineup has a fresh look, the batting is very settled and we'll likely have the same top eight batsmen from the World Cup finals," he added. 

New Zealand Squad for the ODI series against India

Kane Williamson (c), Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tom Latham (wk), Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi (only 1st ODI), Tim Southee, Ross Taylor

Latest Posts