Home Cricket News Lanka Premier League 2021 To Begin From July 30: Reports

Lanka Premier League 2021 To Begin From July 30: Reports

Lanka Premier League 2021 To Begin From July 30: Reports
Lanka Premier League. (Photo Credit: SLC Twitter)

The second edition of the Lanka Premier League is likely to start from July 30 as per reports in Cricbuzz. The final will be played on August 22, a statement from Sri Lanka Cricket Board read. The first edition of the LPL was played last year in a bio-bubble in Hambantota, with five teams participating. Jaffna Stallions beat Galle Gladiators in the final to be crowned champions.

“We have found a suitable window to hold this year’s edition, whilst we are currently working on finalising the other details of the tournament,” said Arjuna de Silva, the chairman of the management committee at the SLC.

Arjuna de Silva further believes that the second season of the Lanka Premier League could be even bigger event than last year’s tournament with participation of more foreign players expected.

Also Read: Salman Khan Buys Kandy Tuskers In Lanka Premier League

Dates Announced For Lanka Premier League 2021

“The first tournament was successful last time at Hambantota and I am very confident we will have more foreign players competing,” de Silva told the Daily News yesterday.

De Silva further said that that the board will discuss with the Ministry Of Health so that the players safety and security amid COVID concerns can be taken care of.

“Sri Lanka Cricket will assess the country’s situation and discuss with the Ministry of Health closer to the tournament to ascertain the health situation in the country prior to taking a final decision on the competition” said De Silva.

As many as four venues have been finalised for the second edition of the Lanka Premier League 2021.The matches will be played at Hambantota, Pallakele, Colombo and Dambulla taking into account the seriousness of the COVID scare. De Silva said that the Sports Minister has already approved the tournament to be played at these venues.

“Sports Minister Namal Rajapaksa has already granted his approval for the LPL to be conducted at Hambantota, Dambulla, Pallekele and Colombo depending on the country’s covid situation in that period,” he said.

Also Read: ICC To Probe Match Fixing Allegations In Lanka Premier League

Latest Posts