Home Cricket News Matt Henry And Tim Seifert Ruled Out Of T20I Series Against Australia

Matt Henry And Tim Seifert Ruled Out Of T20I Series Against Australia

Matt Henry And Tim Seifert Ruled Out Of T20I Series Against Australia
Matt Henry and Seifert

New Zealand have been dealt a major blow as Matt Henry and Tim Seifert will not take part in the 3-match T20I series against Australia starting from 21st February 2024. Matt Henry felt stiffness during the 2nd Test against South Africa at Seddon Park, Hamilton. He will require little recovery to be fit for the important test series against Australia starting on 29th February.

Tim Seifert has been ruled out of the T20I series against Australia due to a torn abductor while taking part in the training for his domestic team Northern District this week.  Seifert and Henry are important members of the T20I setup. Seifert was part of the team that won the T20I series against Pakistan 4-1.

New Zealand head coach Gary Stead is hopeful that both players make recoveries ahead of major series and tournaments including the T20I World Cup to be played in the USA and West Indies this June.

“Matt’s understandably disappointed, but a break for the T20Is will ensure he’s fully fit and ready to go for the Tests against Australia later this month. We’re gutted for Tim who has been a strong performer over recent series and is an important part of the squad. We’re hopeful he’ll make a swift recovery ahead of an important period of T20I cricket. Will has been a regular in the environment across formats for some time now and his recent performances for the Central Stags in the Super Smash show he his more than capable to contribute at this level.”

New Zealand will face Australia in 3 3-match T20I series against Australia. The first match would take place at Sky Stadium, Wellington on the 21st of February before the next two encounters at Eden Park, Auckland on the 23rd and 25th of February. These three matches are an ideal preparation for the New Zealand team for combinations ahead of the marquee T20I World Cup 2024.

Here we look at the New Zealand revised squad for the T20I series against Australia

Mitchell Santer (C), Finn Allen, Trent Boult (Game 2, 3), Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Adam Milne, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (Game 1), Will Young.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts