Home Cricket News Navdeep Saini Sustains Back Injury; Back-Up Named

Navdeep Saini Sustains Back Injury; Back-Up Named

Navdeep Saini Sustains Back Injury; Back-Up Named
Navdeep Saini

Young left-arm fast bowler T Natarajan has been added to the One-Day International squad for the upcoming ODI series against Australia, BCCI stated. The three-match ODI series will kick off from November 27 at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Incidentally, talented fast bowler Navdeep Saini, who has been drafted in all the three formats, complained of back spams one day before the first encounter. The tall and lanky fast bowler from Delhi has made rapid growth in recent times and was considered to be one of the threats against Australia.

Navdeep Saini suffers back spasm

However, Navdeep Saini complained of back pain and as a result, the management has added Sunrisers Hyderabad fast bowler T Natrajan as a cover-up. Last month, the young left-arm fast bowler was picked in the T20 squad as a replacement for spinner Varun Chakravarthy.

Also Read: Sanjay Manjrekar Picks India’s Playing XI For The 1st ODI Against Australia; Excludes Ravindra Jadeja

Natarajan impressed in the recently-concluded IPL in the UAE and was one of the star performers for Hyderabad. He accounted for the highest number of yorkers and earned praise from all quarters. T Natarajan bowled as many as 71 of them, more than double anyone else.

His yorker to dismiss AB de Villiers in the Eliminator was one of the best deliveries of the tournament. T Natarajan finished IPL 2020 with 16 wickets in 16 games.

Meanwhile, Team India, who are coming back to action after nine months of break, will hope to make a winning start. The three-match ODI series will be followed by the same number of T20Is. The tour will culminate with a four-match Test series as a part of the World Test Championship.

India’s ODI squad: Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, T Natarajan.

Latest Posts