Home Cricket News No Virat Kohli, KL Rahul In India’s 15-Member ODI Squad For Zimbabwe Series

No Virat Kohli, KL Rahul In India’s 15-Member ODI Squad For Zimbabwe Series

No Virat Kohli, KL Rahul In India’s 15-Member ODI Squad For Zimbabwe Series
Indian cricket team (Photo: BCCI)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has announced India’s 15-member squad for the upcoming One-day international series against Zimbabwe. Regular skipper Rohit Sharma along with Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, and Hardik Pandya has been rested for the series. In their absence, Shikhar Dhawan will be leading the squad in three ODI matches.

Indian pacer Deepak Chahar has made a comeback to the Indian team. He missed the Indian Premier League (IPL) as well along with the subsequent international series for India due to injury. Meanwhile, veteran batter Virat Kohli too has not been included in the Indian team. The right-handed batter was rested for the ODI as well as the T20I series against West Indies.

The selectors seem to have given Virat Kohli an extended break. He is likely to be back for the Asia Cup 2022 later this year. The right-handed batter has not been in the best of forms off late. He has struggled to consistently score runs, which has become a cause of concern for the Indian team ahead of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 in October.

KL Rahul misses out from Team India squad due to injury: Reports

As per reports, KL Rahul is injured once again and hence not picked for the Zimbabwe tour. Earlier this year, he missed India’s tour of England as he underwent sports hernia surgery. KL Rahul then tested positive for Covid-19 before the T20I series against West Indies. He was expected to lead India in the Zimbabwe ODIs, but, should now be eyeing a comeback in the Asia Cup in August.

Schedule for India vs Zimbabwe ODIs:

First ODI: August 18, Thursday, Harare Sports Club

Second ODI: August 20, Saturday, Harare Sports Club

Third ODI: August 22, Monday, Harare Sports Club

India squad for Zimbabwe ODIs: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar.

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts