Home Cricket News Pakistan Joins Road Safety World Series: Inaugural Appearance In England

Pakistan Joins Road Safety World Series: Inaugural Appearance In England

Pakistan Joins Road Safety World Series: Inaugural Appearance In England

The Road Safety World Series, a T20 cricket league showcasing former international stars, is set to include a team from Pakistan for the first time in its upcoming third season, scheduled for September this year.

While the league has previously been held in India, this edition will take place in England, having received approval from the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB).

The tournament’s inception took place in March 2020, and it has successfully completed two seasons in India thus far. While the exact dates for the third season are yet to be confirmed, sources suggest that the league is expected to span almost three weeks in early September.

Notably, the coming edition will feature nine participating teams, a step up from the eight teams that participated last year.

The initial season unfolded across 2020 and 2021, with a break due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The second season followed in 2022. Tensions between the Indian and Pakistani governments, coupled with the previous two seasons taking place in India, had precluded Pakistan‘s involvement until now.

The inaugural season, launched in March 2020, featured teams from India, Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, and Australia. However, the outbreak of the pandemic led to a truncated schedule after just four matches.

The remaining games resumed in March 2021, with Australia’s withdrawal due to Covid-19 travel restrictions. They were replaced by Bangladesh, and England also joined the fray.

The second season, held in Dehradun and Raipur in September 2022, welcomed New Zealand as the eighth participating team and marked Australia’s return. Both editions saw India Legends emerge victorious, defeating Sri Lanka Legends in the final held in Raipur.

Throughout its existence, the tournament has showcased cricketing legends who have triumphed in former ODI and T20 World Cup events.

Renowned players such as Sachin Tendulkar, Kevin Pietersen, Sanath Jayasuriya, Shane Watson, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Yuvraj Singh, Brian Lara, Jonty Rhodes, Shane Bond, and numerous others have participated and added to the league’s allure.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates

Latest Posts