Home Cricket News PCB Has Chosen Sohail Tanvir To Lead The Junior Selection Committee

PCB Has Chosen Sohail Tanvir To Lead The Junior Selection Committee

PCB Has Chosen Sohail Tanvir To Lead The Junior Selection Committee

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has named ex-Pakistani fast bowler Sohail Tanvir as the chair of the junior selection committee. Tanvir, recognized for his left- seam bowling, debuted in international cricket in a T20I against India in 2007.

Sohail Tanvir was a member of the victorious Pakistan squad in the 2009 T20 World Cup. His career spanned 2 Tests, 62 ODIs, and 57 T20Is, amassing 130 wickets. Notably, he was part of Pakistan’s victorious 2009 T20 World Cup squad.

In his inaugural role as the head of the junior selection committee, Sohail Tanvir will be responsible for picking the Pakistan U19 squad for the 2023 ACC U19 Asia Cup, set to take place from December 8 to 17 in the UAE.

Following this, the Pakistan U19 team is slated to participate in the ICC U19 World Cup from January 13 to February 4 in Sri Lanka.

“I am truly honoured and grateful for the opportunity provided by the Chairman PCB Management Committee Mr Zaka Ashraf to serve as head of the junior selection committee.”

“Being appointed chairman of this committee is a huge responsibility and I am looking forward to this exciting challenge.”

“I believe in the potential of our young talent and we collaboratively aim to build a pathway for success from the grassroots to the international level,” Tanvir stated in remarks conveyed by the PCB.

PCB undergoing significant changes following the 2023 ODI World Cup

After their disappointing performance in the ODI World Cup 2023, the PCB has undergone management changes, including the appointment of former fast bowler Wahab Riaz as the chief selector, succeeding the resigned Inzamam ul Haq.

Additionally, ex-Pakistan all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez has assumed the role of Team Director for the Pakistan Men’s Cricket Team.

Alongside changes in management, there is a shift in leadership across all three formats, with Babar Azam relinquishing the captaincy following the team’s unsatisfactory World Cup performance.

After Babar Azam’s resignation, Shan Masood has been appointed as the new Test captain, and fast bowler Shaheen Afridi will take on the T20I captaincy. The captaincy for the Pakistan ODI team remains undisclosed by the PCB.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts