Cricket News

Piyush Chawla Picks His All-Time Test XI; No Place For Virat Kohli And Steve Smith

The trend of picking all-time XIs during this lockdown has kept everyone entertained. The present and past cricketers on social media are picking their favourite players and creating their dream team. India leg-spinner Piyush Chawla recently named his all-time Test XI. Chawla was part of the India squad that won the 50 over World Cup in 2011.

The veteran leg-spinner in his squad had no place for any current cricketers that would surprise many people. The likes of Virat Kohli and Steve Smith two modern-day greats were not included in Chawla’s team. The leg-spinner picked his all-time XI during an Instagram live session with Cricket Revolt.

3 Indians in all-time Test XI of Piyush Chawla

The openers of his team were two destructive batsmen that dominated Test cricket during the 2000s, Matthew Hayden and Virender Sehwag. At number 3 he went in with the leading run-scorer for Australia in Test cricket the great Ricky Ponting. The little master Sachin Tendulkar was an easy choice to bat at number 4 in Chawla’s team.

Piyush Chawla
Piyush Chawla (Photo: Getty Images)

At number 5, he went in with the prince of Trinidad Brain Charles Lara who holds the record for highest individual score in Tests. The wicketkeeper-batsman of Chawla’s team was the Australian Adam Gilchrist who changed many matches batting down the order in his career.

The crucial number 7 and the all-rounder of his side was the legendary Kapil Dev. He is the only player in the history of Test cricket to score over 5000 runs and pick over 400 wickets. Chawla picked both spinning wizards Shane Warne, Muttiah Muralitharan in his all-time XI.

He picked Curtly Ambrose and Wasim Akram as the specialist fast bowler of his side. The former Caribbean, in his illustrious career, picked over 400 test wickets while Akram was a master in his craft. Chawla picked his former teammate at Kolkata Knight Riders Jacques Kallis as the 12th man of his team.

All-time Test XI of Piyush Chawla:

Virender Sehwag, Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Adam Gilchrist (wk), Kapil Dev, Wasim Akram, Shane Warne, Muttiah Muralitharan, Curtly Ambrose, Jacques Kallis (12th man)

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker