Home PSL PSL 2023: [WATCH] Teammates React As Shaheen Shah Afridi Hits A Quickfire Knock

PSL 2023: [WATCH] Teammates React As Shaheen Shah Afridi Hits A Quickfire Knock

PSL 2023: [WATCH] Teammates React As Shaheen Shah Afridi Hits A Quickfire Knock
Shaheen Afridi. Photo Credit: (Twitter)

Lahore Qalandars defended their title with a thrilling 1-run win over Multan Sultans in front of jam-packed Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on 18 March 2023.

Qalandars captain Shaheen Shah Afridi won the toss and decided to bat first. Mirza Baig and Fakhar Zaman showed intent right from word go putting pressure on Sultan’s bowling. Ihansullah got the breakthrough for Sultans dismissing Baig. Lahore Qalandar openers added 38 runs for the opening wicket laying a strong foundation.

Fakhar Zaman and Abdullah Shafique steadied the ship for Lahore Qalandars putting pressure on Sultan bowlers. Usama Mir got the breakthrough getting rid of dangerous Zaman. Zaman and Shafique added 57 runs for the 2nd wicket. Mir struck twice off successive deliveries getting rid of Sam Billings and Ahsan Hafeez to leave Qalandars in trouble.

Shaheen Shah Afridi came to the crease with Lahore Qalandars in big trouble at 112 for 5. He put the Multan Sultan bowlers under pressure hitting some big blows to maintain the pressure on Sultan bowlers. It was a remarkable batting by Shaheen Shah Afridi showing his attacking skills which left Qalandars teammates in shock.

His unbeaten 44 off 15 deliveries with 2 fours and 5 sixes helped Lahore Qalandars to post 200 for 6 in 20 overs. The innings was welcomed by Rashid Khan and Company as Afridi showed his class with the bat to help Qalandars post 200 runs on the board.

Shaheen Shah Afridi delivers the goods with the ball

Shaheen Shah Afridi delivered the goods for Qalandars with a dream spell. He was taken to the cleaners in the first two overs but came back picking 3 wickets in an over.  Afridi dismissed Pollard, Tim David, and Anwar Ali to change the momentum of the game. He then grabbed the wicket of Usama Mir on his first delivery.

Haris Rauf was taken for 22 runs in the 19th over to shift the momentum in favour of Multan Sultans. The match went right down the wire with 4 runs required off the final delivery, Zaman Khan nailed the yorker as Khushdil Shah and Abbas Afridi tried to take the third run but Shah was run out to give Lahore Qalandar 1 run.

For his unbeaten 44 off 15 deliveries and 4 for 51 in 4 overs, Shaheen Shah Afridi was named the player of the match award.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts