Home Cricket News Ramiz Raja, Shoaib Akhtar Reacts To ICC Confirming Pakistan As Champions Trophy...

Ramiz Raja, Shoaib Akhtar Reacts To ICC Confirming Pakistan As Champions Trophy 2025 Hosts

Ramiz Raja-Shoaib Akhtar on Pakistan Cricket

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday (November 16) announced the host nations for the global white-ball events from 2024-2031. Interestingly, Pakistan is all set to host the 2025 Champions trophy. India will get to host the 2029 Champions Trophy, 2026 T20 World Cup alongside Sri Lanka, and 2031 Cricket World Cup in association with Bangladesh.

“The USA and Namibia will host an ICC World Cup event for the first time. Whilst Australia, Bangladesh, England, Ireland, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe have previously staged major events and will do so again over the next decade,” ICC press release stated.

Meanwhile, PCB Chief Ramiz Raja and former Pakistan pacer Shoaib Akhtar has welcomed this move from ICC. International teams of England and New Zealand opted out of a bilateral series in the country recently. From that point, Pakistan getting host status for ICC tournaments is a massive statement from the major cricket body itself. 

“It’s a matter of great pride and delight that Pakistan will be hosting ICC Champions Trophy 2025. This great news will surely excite millions of Pakistani fans, expats, and world fans to see great teams and players in action and will allow the world to sample our hospitality,” Raja tweeted.

“Super excited to hear about Pakistan getting the hosting rights for 2025 ICC Champions Trophy,” Akhtar expressed his happiness on Twitter. 

Pakistan To Host ICC Champions Trophy 2025


Pakistan are the defending champions of the Champions Trophy having won it in 2017. They beat India in the final to win the tournament. They also made it to the semi-finals of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021. 

The last time Pakistan hosted a World Cup event was the 1996 World Cup along with India and Sri Lanka. The Lankan national won the World Cup by beating Australia in Lahore.

“We are delighted to have concluded this competitive bidding process for the first time for ICC events. To have 14 Members hosting 8 events is a reflection of the truly global nature of our sport and I’d like to thank every Member that submitted a bid and offer our congratulations to the successful bidders,” ICC Chair Greg Barclay was quoted as saying. 

Get the latest update on T20 World Cup and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.