Home Cricket News Rashid Latif Accuses BCCI Of Threatening Players From Playing In Kashmir Premier...

Rashid Latif Accuses BCCI Of Threatening Players From Playing In Kashmir Premier League (KPL)

Rashid Latif BCCI KPL

Rashid Latif has accused the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) of threatening other cricket boards & players from participating in the newly-formed Kashmir Premier League (KPL). The tournament is set to start on August 6, 2021, with six teams participating.

Several former players namely Herschelle Gibbs, Tillakaratne Dilshan, and Shahid Afridi are part of the league. While mentioning the alleged threat made by BCCI, Rashid Latif has said the players participating in the KPL won’t be allowed to enter India. On his Twitter account, the former Pakistan player said:

“The @BCCI is warning cricket boards that if their former players took part in Kashmir Premier League, they won’t be allowed entry in India or allowed to work in Indian cricket at any level or in any capacity. Gibbs, Dilshan, Monty Panesar & several others have been selected in KPL.”

Former Proteas batsman Herschelle Gibbs confirmed the same. Following the announcement of his participation, Gibbs stated that the BCCI warned him against doing so.

“Completely unnecessary of the @BCCI to bring their political agenda with Pakistan into the equation and trying to prevent me from playing in the KPL. Also threatening me saying they won’t allow me entry into India for any cricket-related work. Ludicrous.”

Kashmir Premier League (KPL) to commence on August 6 and end on August 16

The inaugural edition of the KPL will start on August 6 with six teams taking part in it. Out of these, five are cities in Pakistan’s Azad Kashmir territory while one represents foreign Kashmiris.

The games, however, have not received an official T20 status. Therefore, the stats from these matches will not be registered officially. Apart from the men’s game, it was also announced that a women’s KPL would be introduced from the second year.

The six teams announced for KPL are Overseas Warriors, Mirpur Royals, Kotli Lions, Bagh Stallions, Rawalakot Hawks, and Muzaffarabad Tigers. All the games will be played at the Muzaffarabad Cricket Stadium.

Get the latest update on IPL 2021England vs India 2021, and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.