Home Asia Cup 2022 “Relief For Other Teams” – Irfan Pathan Take A Sly Dig At...

“Relief For Other Teams” – Irfan Pathan Take A Sly Dig At Waqar Younis Ahead Of Asia Cup 2022

Irfan Pathan
Irfan Pathan (Credit: Twitter)

Former cricketer Irfan Pathan has taken a sly dig at Pakistan’s Waqar Younis’ recent tweet after news surfaced that ace fast bowler Shaheen Africa will miss the upcoming Asia Cup 2022. The inter-continental tournament will get underway on August 27 in the United Arab Emirates.

Waqar stated that Shaheen’s absence is a big relief for the Indian top-order given the left-arm pacer’s match-winning performance in the T20 World Cup last year. The young left-arm pacer has been ruled out of action for 4-6 weeks and is expected to be fit for the T20 World Cup.

“Shaheen’s injury Big relief for the Indian top order batsmen. Sad we won’t be seeing him in #AsiaCup2022. Get fit soon Champ,” wrote Waqar on Twitter.

Former India all-rounder Irfan Pathan took notice of Waqar’s tweet and took a sly dig at him by reminding that India will be missing two premier bowlers in Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel.

“It’s a relief of other teams that Bumrah and Harshal aren’t playing this Asia cup!,” wrote Irfan on the micro-blogging site.

Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel are currently at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) undergoing rehabilitation for their respective injuries. Bumrah is struggling with a back issue while Harshal is missing from action due to a rib injury which also forced him to miss the series against West Indies.

India and Pakistan will lock horns with each other on August 28 (Sunday) at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai.

India and Pakistan squad for Asia Cup

India Squad for Asia Cup 2922: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Pakistan Squad for Asia Cup 2022: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.