Home BBL Ricky Ponting Picks His All-Time Best BBL XI

Ricky Ponting Picks His All-Time Best BBL XI

Ricky Ponting

Former Australian World Cup-winning skipper Ricky Ponting recently picked his all-time best XI for the Big Bash League. The Big Bash League is currently undergoing his 10th edition after its inaugural season in the year 2010, ever since starting the league, the competition has emerged to be one of the most liked T20 franchise leagues in the World.

The former Aussie skipper very interestingly used a slightly different factor for selecting the playing XI. Ricky Ponting picked his team based on unconventional statistics like BPB (balls per boundary), Basra (batting average + strike rate), and WPI (wickets per innings).

Also Read: Mohammed Kaif Reveals What He Told Prithvi Shaw During IPL 2020 Final

Ricky Ponting Picks Brad Hodge Ahead of Chris Lynn

Firstly talking about the opening slot, Ponting picked the likes of Aaron Finch and Shaun Marsh who have been successful openers in the history of the BBL playing for the franchises Melbourne Renegades and Perth Scorchers respectively. As the record of both openers stands, Aaron Finch has amassed 2252 runs in 63 innings whereas Shaun Marsh has scored 1884 runs in 49 innings for their franchises.

In the middle order, Ricky Ponting picked the combo of Brad Hodge, Glenn Maxwell, George Bailey and Marcus Stoinis as all four players have dominated in every season they have played. Though Marcus Stoinis more often than not opens for the Melbourne Stars, Ponting here picked Stoinis in the middle order. For the wicket keeper’s role, Ponting picked Matthew Wade ahead of Alex Carey purely because he’s a someone who possesses the ability to attack at any given point of time.

Also Read: IPL 2021 Likely To Go Ahead With 8 Teams – Reports

In the bowling department, Ricky Ponting chose Sean Abbott, Rashid Khan, Ben Laughlin and Lasith Malinga as his core group of bowlers as they all possess the sheer ability to pick wickets with an aggressive approach.

Here’s the XI: Aaron Finch (c), Shaun Marsh, Brad Hodge, Glenn Maxwell, George Bailey, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade (wk), Sean Abbott, Rashid Khan, Ben Laughlin, Lasith Malinga