Rohit Sharma Awarded With Prestigious Khel Ratna Award

Rohit Sharma (Credit: Twitter)

One of the most devastating limited-overs batsman in the world at present, Rohit Sharma is all set to be conferred with the prestigious Khel Ratna Award. It is the highest honour for a sportsperson in the country.

Rohit, along with para-athlete Mariappan Thangavelu, table tennis champion Manika Batra, wrestler Vinesh Phogat and hockey player Rani Rampal will get the award this year. Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma has been in spectacular form in the last year.

Rohit Sharma awarded with Khel Ratna award

The limited-overs skipper had a dream run in the World Cup in England. He became the first cricketer in the history to score five centuries in one single edition. Rohit Sharma has been a force to reckon with since his promotion to the top-order in 2013. He along with Virat Kohli has been the mainstays of India’s batting in the last decade.

Rohit joins only three more Indian cricketers – Sachin Tendulkar, MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli in the list of Khel Ratna Award winners. The cricketer from Mumbai was last in action during the T20 series against New Zealand. He suffered a hand injury and missed the ODIs and Test series.

Rohit bowler he would want face from past

Rohit Sharma awarded with Khel Ratna Award

He will be back in action when he leads Mumbai Indians in the IPL. The 13th edition of the cash-rich league will commence from September 19 in the UAE. Mumbai, who will defend the title have already landed in Abu Dhabi and will resume training soon.

On the other hand, Ishant Sharma and Deepti Sharma has been conferred with Arjuna Awards. They are among the 27 sportspersons who will receive the prestigious Arjuna Award this year.

Ishant has been a pillar in India’s bowling unit leading the pack in the last decade. He will turn out for Delhi Capitals in the IPL. On the other hand, all-rounder Deepti Sharma has played a pivotal role in promoting women’s cricket in India. She is one of the best all-rounders in world cricket right now.