Home Twitter Reactions “Scared Even Against Zimbabwe” – Fans Slam India’s Decision To Bowl First...

“Scared Even Against Zimbabwe” – Fans Slam India’s Decision To Bowl First In 2nd ODI

Team India skipper KL Rahul with Zimbabwe skipper
Photo: BCCI

Team India secured a comprehensive win against Zimbabwe in the first ODI on Thursday, August 18 at the Harare Sports Club, chasing 190 runs. The KL Rahul-led team has struck with the same plan of bowling first in the second ODI, which got underway on Saturday, August 20. However, despite a win in the previous match, the decision has come under some scrutiny.

Team India chased down 190 runs comfortably with ten wickets to spare, as the openers Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill remained unbeaten. However, the fans were disappointed as the rest of the batters did not get an opportunity to bat. On Saturday, Indian skipper KL Rahul won the toss and again opted to bowl first in the second ODI.

Speaking at the toss, he said, “We will bowl first. Looks a little better, looks a lot harder than the previous surface, and obviously bowling first there’s something in the wicket, hopefully, we get early wickets.”


With the Asia Cup and the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 around the corner, the Indian team is looking to find their perfect combination. The Zimbabwe tour is an opportunity for the players to showcase their talent, and stay in contention for the mega-event. KL Rahul, who was out of action for several weeks, has been included in India’s Asia Cup. He does not have any match practice under his belt, in the last few weeks. However, with India’s decision to bowl first, he and the other batters are unlikely to get good opportunities out in the middle.

Let’s take a look at how the fans reacted to KL Rahul’s decision to bowl first:

Zimbabwe vs India – Second ODI Playing XIs

Team India made just one change to their team for the second ODI against Zimbabwe. Surprisingly, they have not included Deepak Chahar in the team and brought in all-rounder Shardul Thakur in his place. Deepak made his comeback to the Indian team in the first ODI after being out of action for several months. He performed well taking a couple of wickets in the match.

On the other hand, Zimbabwe made two changes, bringing in Tanaka Chivanga and Takudzwanashe Kaitano. They have excluded Tadiwanashe Marumani and Richard Ngarava from the team.

Zimbabwe (Playing XI): Innocent Kaia, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Wesley Madhevere, Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva(w/c), Ryan Burl, Luke Jongwe, Brad Evans, Victor Nyauchi, Tanaka Chivanga

India (Playing XI): Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul(c), Deepak Hooda, Sanju Samson(w), Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.