Home Cricket News Shashi Tharoor Picks His All-Time India Test XI; Selects MS Dhoni As The Captain

Shashi Tharoor Picks His All-Time India Test XI; Selects MS Dhoni As The Captain

Shashi Tharoor Picks His All-Time India Test XI; Selects MS Dhoni As The Captain

Famous politician and author Shashi Tharoor has picked India’s All-Time Test Eleven, in his latest book ‘Pride, Prejudice, and Punditry’. He has given the team, the title of “Indian Immortals XI”.

Tharoor picked Sunil Gavaskar and Virender Sehwag as his openers. He said that Sunil Gavaskar’s absence in the All-time XI would be unthinkable as the ‘Little Master’ had an impeccable technique, perfect defence and sharp strokeplay.

At no.3, Shashi chose none other than “The Wall”, Rahul Dravid. In Test Cricket , Dravid has amassed over 10,000 runs batting at No. 3. At this position, he has a total of 10,524 runs at an average of 52.88 in 219 Test innings, with 28 hundreds and 50 fifties. “At number three, there really is no debate: Rahul Dravid it must be, steely, unflappable, determined, ‘The Wall’ the enemy had to breach before conquering the Indian fort.”, Tharoor wrote in the book.

The no.4 and 5 spots in Tharoor’s XI are occupied by two of the greatest batters in the history of Indian cricket: Sachin Tendulkar and Virat Kohli. VVS Laxman unfortunately  couldn’t find a place in his XI as the team already has 5 specialist batters.

MS Dhoni to lead Shashi Tharoor’s All-Time XI

At no. 6, Shashi Tharoor placed Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Tharoor also lauded MS for the calming influence he brings on the team and thus made him the captain of his all-time XI. Kapil Dev, inarguably India’s greatest all-rounder, is at number 7 in Tharoor’s team.

Placed at no.8 is India’s leading wicket-taker, Anil Kumble. Since the team is made, keeping the conditions of Lord’s Cricket Ground in mind, the team has 3 pacers- Zaheer, Srinath and Bumrah. “In Indian conditions, Srinath would have to make way for the spinning wiles of Bishen Bedi or Ravichandran Ashwin, but at Lord’s they might have to carry the drinks.”, stated Tharoor.

Shashi Tharoor’s All-Time India Test XI: Gavaskar, Sehwag, Dravid, Tendulkar, Kohli, Dhoni (captain & wk), Kapil Dev, Kumble, Zaheer, Srinath (weather permitting), Bumrah.

Reserves: Azhar, Laxman, Rohit, Ashwin, and Bedi (one of the last two to swap with Srinath depending on pitch and climate conditions).

12th Man: Ravindra Jadeja.

Get the latest update on T20 World Cup and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts