Home Cricket News Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer Return As West Indies Announce ODI Squad For...

Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer Return As West Indies Announce ODI Squad For Australia Series

West Indies
(Credit: Getty Images)

Senior cricketers Shimron Hetmyer, Sheldon Cottrell, and Roston Chase, who were not a part of the Sri Lanka ODI series in March have been recalled as West Indies announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming series against Australia.

Kevin Sinclair and Kyle Mayers, who didn’t get a game in Sri Lanka have been axed from the side. The 24-year-old fast bowler Anderson Phillip, who made his debut against Sri Lanka has retained his place.

West Indies chairman of selectors Roger Harper is confident that this side will give a tough fight to the mighty Aussies. He is confident that the addition of three senior cricketers will increase the depth of the team.

“This squad is coming off a comprehensive series win against Sri Lanka which should boost their confidence going into what is expected to be a tougher contest against Australia,” Roger Harper, Lead Selector said. “The return of Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase and Sheldon Cottrell adds greater depth and experience to the squad,” Roger Harper said.

He also highlighted the importance of winning each and every game considering that it will pave their way for the 2023 World Cup selection. The top seven teams in the ICC World Cup Super League will make an automatic entry in the next edition of the 50-over World Cup.

“Playing in familiar home conditions, hopefully will bring out the best in each player thereby enabling the team to perform at a consistently high standard. This CG Insurance ODI series against Australia is part of the ICC Cricket World Cup qualification process where every game and every point counts, so it is very important,” he added.

The first game of the three-match series will take place on July 20, followed by games on July 22 and 24. The Kensington Oval in Barbados will be the venue for all three matches.

West Indies squad:

Kieron Pollard (Captain), Shai Hope (Vice-Captain), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Anderson Philip, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd

Get the latest update on IPL 2021England vs India 2021, and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.