Home Cricket News South Africa Announce T20I Squad For Australia Series; Faf Du Plessis, Kagiso...

South Africa Announce T20I Squad For Australia Series; Faf Du Plessis, Kagiso Rabada Return

Faf du Plessis, who recently resigned as the skipper of South Africa, has returned to the T20I squad alongside star fast bowler Kagiso Rabada for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Australia. The three T20Is on February 21 (Friday), 23 (Sunday) and 26 (Wednesday).  Johannesburg, Port Elizabeth and Cape Town will host the three matches.

Moreover, Anrich Nortje has also made a return to the squad with Reeza Hendricks. Meanwhile, Beuran Hendricks and Sisanda Magala, who were part of the squad for the T20Is against England, making way. Temba Bavuma, who had good returns in the T20I series against England suffered a hamstring injury in the last T20I. He will undergo scans, which will determine his availability for the Australia series.

South Africa. Credit: Getty Images

Read More: Faf du Plessis resigns as the skipper of South Africa

The Proteas will be keen to bounce back against Australia, who are coming on the back of a dominating summer after a 2-1 drubbing against England. Although they lost the series, South Africa have put in close fights in all the games which will be a good sign for the team with ICC T20 World Cup looming large. 

Independent Selector Linda Zondi hailed the side for the performances they have put in against England and stated that they are happy with the squad for the series against Australia. 

"As a selection panel, we are happy with the team that we have finalised for the Australia tour. We are confident that the return of Kagiso (Rabada) and Anrich (Nortje) will provide the boost that the bowling unit needs in order to return to its dangerous ways and that the experience of Faf (du Plessis) will add an extra dimension to the batting unit's already fledgeling prowess," Zondi said. 

South Africa T20I Squad for Australia series: 

Quinton de Kock (c/wk), Temba Bavuma (subject to fitness) Faf du Plessis, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Pite van Biljon, Dwaine Pretorius, Andile Phehlukwayo, Jon-Jon Smuts, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi, Bjorn Fortuin, Anrich Nortje, Dale Steyn, Heinrich Klaasen