Home Cricket News South Africa Announce Test Squad For India Series; Duanne Olivier Returns

South Africa Announce Test Squad For India Series; Duanne Olivier Returns

South Africa Announce Test Squad For India Series; Duanne Olivier Returns
Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has announced a 21-member squad that will face top-ranked Test team India in a three-match Test series, starting December 26 in Centurion. Duanne Olivier, who last played a Test for South Africa in 2019, has made a return to the Test set-up.

Olivier’s last Test appearance for South Africa was in Gqeberha against Sri Lanka in February of 2019. The 29-year-old has made a loud return to the CSA Four-Day Series, ending this year as the leading wicket-taker, eight scalps clear of number two, Simon Harmer. Olivier has claimed 28 wickets in eight innings at an average of 11.14 and best innings bowling figures of 5/53.

After being rested for the ODI series against the Netherlands, Kagiso Rabada, Quinton de Kock and Anrich Nortje are back in the squad for the all-important series as South Africa aim to make a positive start to their ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 journey.

Dean Elgar will lead the side while Temba Bavuma will be his deputy with the series set to kick off on December 26.

“We as the Selectors are excited for the return of Test cricket. This format is very important to CSA and keeping it relevant and alive is one of the organisation’s priorities,” Victor Mpitsang, the Convenor of Selectors, said.

“We are really looking forward to the return of Dean Elgar and his men, it’s been a long few months since the last time we saw them dominate in the West Indies. We are confident in the team that we have selected and believe fully in backing the talent that we have unearthed and cultivated over the last couple of seasons and giving players the backing that they deserve when they have continuously done well over a significant period of time,” he added. 

The first Test between India and South Africa will be played in Centurion while the next two matches will be played in Johannesburg and Cape Town. The series will be followed by three ODI from January 19.

South Africa squad: Dean Elgar (captain), Temba Bavuma (vice-captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Kagiso Rabada, Sarel Erwee, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Prenelan Subrayen, Sisanda Magala, Ryan Rickelton, Duanne Olivier.

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts