Home Cricket News Sri Lanka Announce 22-Member Squad For West Indies Tests; Charith Asalanka Called...

Sri Lanka Announce 22-Member Squad For West Indies Tests; Charith Asalanka Called Up

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka have announced a 22-member squad for the upcoming two-match Test series against West Indies which starts on November 21. The Galle International Stadium will host both the games which is a part of the ICC World Test Championship.

Charith Asalanka has earned a place in the Test squad on the back of a fantastic performance in the recently concluded ICC T20 World Cup, in which he emerged as Sri Lanka’s highest run-scorer. On the other hand, Dushmantha Chameera, who had missed the previous Test series against Bangladesh due to personal commitments has made a comeback.

There have been several other call-ups to the side with Minod Bhanuka and Chamika Karunaratne also returning. Bhanuka, the top-order batter, makes a return after missing the Bangladesh Tests at home in April, while allrounder Karunaratne, who debuted against Australia two years ago, returns on the back of impressive limited-overs performances, both at home against India in July and at the T20 World Cup.

The squad also features three uncapped players: Kamil Mishara, Suminda Lakshan, and Chamika Gunasekara. The spin attack will feature Lakshan Sandakan and Lasith Embuldeniya, who is back after recovering from a thigh injury.

The squad also boasts veteran all-rounder Angelo Matthews which will be led by Dimuth Karunaratne. Notable absentees from the squad are Lahiru Thirimanne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Niroshan Dickwella, and Dasun Shanaka. Dickwella is currently serving a ban for breaching the bio-bubble in England in July this year.

Squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Minod Bhanuka, Roshen Silva, Kamil Mishara, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Lakshan Sandakan, Lasith Embuldeniya, Praveen Jayawickrama, Suminda Lakshan, Suranga Lakmal, Vishwa Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Asitha Fernando, Chamika Gunasekara

Get the latest update on T20 World Cup and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.