Home Cricket News Sri Lanka Appoints New Captain For T20I Series against Bangladesh

Sri Lanka Appoints New Captain For T20I Series against Bangladesh


Dinesh Chandimal the right-handed Sri Lankan middle order batsmen are all set to lead the 15-man Sri Lanka squad for the upcoming two-match T20I series against Bangladesh.

In what is the first t20 international series under the coach Chandika Hathurusingha”s tenure squad features a lot of youth. Seam bowlers Asitha Fernando and Shehan Madushanka (20 and 22 respectively), inexperienced spinners Jeffrey Vandersay and Amila Aponso, and seam-bowling allrounder Dasun Shanaka, all feature for the two-match series.

In the continued absence of Angelo Mathews, the team will be led by Dinesh Chandimal, who himself has not played a T20 in over a year. Thisara Perera was in the squad but was overlooked for the captaincy after leading the side recently in India.

Though, the squad includes three years after he played his last international, leg-spinning all-rounder Jeevan Mendis, 35. Jeevan has made his way back into a Sri Lanka squad. Though his recall was unexpected, he has nevertheless been in good bowling form for Tamil Union Cricket Club in the ongoing Premier League first-class tournament.

The squad includes usual faces with the bat led by Dinesh Chandimal in the batting group as well the all-rounder”s department.

Given below is the 15 member squad selected to play in the upcoming two T20i matches Sri Lanka is set to play against Bangladesh in the ongoing tour.

The first T20 will be played on the 15th February and the 2nd will be played on the 18th February 2018.

Minister of Sports Honorable Dayasiri Jayasekera has given his approval to the squad as is the norm of every squad selected by Srilankan Cricket selectors being subjected to approval by the sports ministry of the current government.

T20 squad: Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, Shehan Madushanka, Jeffrey Vandersay, Akila Dananjaya, Amila Aponso, Jeevan Mendis, Asitha Fernando

Latest Posts