Home Cricket News Sunil Gavaskar Picks His India-Pakistan Combined XI; No Rahul Dravid In The...

Sunil Gavaskar Picks His India-Pakistan Combined XI; No Rahul Dravid In The List

Sunil Gavaskar Urges Cricketers to Wear Black Armbands
Sunil Gavaskar. (Photo Credit: BCCI)

India and Pakistan have produced many fiercest battles on the cricket field. They like to keep their emotions on their sleeves whenever they went up against each other. Also, both nations have produced some of the greatest cricketers of all-time. Recently, legendary India batsman Sunil Gavaskar sat down to pick his combined India-Pakistan XI.

Gavaskar was speaking along with former Pakistan skipper Ramiz Raja on the Sony Ten show Pit Stop and Blue Revolution Series which was streamed live on the network’s Facebook page. During the interaction, the cricketer-turned commentator said that regardless of what happens if this team actually played or not, he expects the dressing room to be “hilarious”.

Read More: 5 Talented Cricketers With Short International Careers

The batting maestro also admitted that this may not be the best team but he wants to see them play together. Sunil Gavaskar went with Virender Segwah and Hanif Mohammad as the opening pair. Sehwag, known for his destructive batting is a perfect match to Hanif, who is the first batsman outside of Australia and England, to score a triple century in Test cricket.

The veteran then went with Pakistan’s Zaheer Abbas at 3 while slotting Sachin Tendulkar at 4. Former India batsman Gundappa Viswanath comes in at No.5 while Kapil Dev slots in at No.6 in Sunil Gavaskar’s combined India-Pakistan XI. Surprisingly, Gavaskar didn’t go with Rahul Dravid in the batting unit.

Read More: Rohit Sharma Names The Only Country Where India Get No Crowd Support

The legendary all-rounder, who is currently the Prime Minister of Pakistan, Imran Khan followed suit while Syed Kirmani is the wicket-keeper in the side. Wasim Akram, Abdul Qadir and former India legspinner BS Chandrashekhar completed the pack which is good enough to beat any side.

Sunil Gavaskar’s India-Pakistan XI:

Hanif Mohammad, Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Abbas, Sachin Tendulkar, Gundappa Viswanath, Kapil Dev, Imran Khan, Syed Kirmani, Wasim Akram, Abdul Qadir, BS Chandrasekhar.

Read More: Rashid Khan Picks The Toughest Batsmen To Bowl To