Home Cricket News Suraj Samat Elected As Governing Council Member Of Mumbai T20 League

Suraj Samat Elected As Governing Council Member Of Mumbai T20 League

Suraj Samat Elected As Governing Council Member Of Mumbai T20 League

Suraj Samat, a committee member of the District Sports Club at the Bandra Kurla Complex has been elected as a member of the governing council of the Mumbai T20 league in the recent Mumbai Cricket Association’s (MCA) general body meeting. Meanwhile, Milind Narvekar, the personal assistant to Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, was elected as the chairman.

Samat has been involved with sports for quite some time now. He was seen taking a proactive role in helping the ground staffs amid the lockdown in the country due to the coronavirus pandemic. The District Sports Club in the Bandra Kurla Complex also come forward to help the authorities. They gave their complex for the use of quarantine centres of the possible COVID-19 survivors from the locality.

Suraj Samat elected to Mumbai T20 league governing council

Speaking of the appointment, Suraj Samat said that their goal will be to ensure that more and more players get the opportunity to play in the Mumbai T20 League which is also MCA’s biggest brand. He also stated that they plan to involve students to increase the viewership under the newly-elected chairman Milind Narvekar.

“The T20 League is one of MCA’s biggest brands and we will ensure maximum players get a chance to play in it and benefit from the tournament. We will also involve colleges and schools across Mumbai to generate maximum viewership for the tournament under the able leadership of Milind Narvekar,” Suraj Samat said after his appointment.

Also Read: Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021 – Schedule, Squads, Venue & Everything You Need To Know

Meanwhile, Mumbai T20 League has been a huge success ever since it began in 2018. Aimed to unearth talents in Mumbai cricket, the T20 league has already brought some cricketers like Shivam Dube in the limelight, who has gone onto play for India.

So far, in the two editions, Triumph Knights Mumbai North East and North Mumbai Panthers have gone on to win in 2018 and 2019 respectively.

Latest Posts