Home Cricket News T20 World Cup 2021: Sohaib Maqsood Ruled Out Of The Mega Event

T20 World Cup 2021: Sohaib Maqsood Ruled Out Of The Mega Event

T20 World Cup 2021: Sohaib Maqsood Ruled Out Of The Mega Event

Pakistan have been dealt with a major blow after Sohaib Maqsood was ruled out of the ICC T20 World Cup after failing an MRI scan on his lower back. Maqsood had sustained a back injury on October 6 during the National T20 Cup at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Maqsood had been in good form since making his return to the national team after a gap of five years, making a mark in recent tours of England and West Indies. Sohaib Maqsood then followed it up by helping Multan Sultans to the PSL title this year, scoring five half-centuries in 12 matches.

Sohaib Maqsood has been replaced by veteran all-rounder Shoaib Malik. He captained Pakistan in the inaugural event in 2007 and was a member of the side that won the tournament in 2009. After missing the West Indies event in 2010, he featured in 2012, 2014 and 2016 tournaments.

Pakistan make 3 changes to their T20 World Cup squad

Fakhar Zaman, Sarfaraz Ahmed and Haider Ali have been included in the Pakistan squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021, with the PCB announcing three changes on Friday (October 8).

Fakhar, who was originally part of the reserves, will now join the 15-member squad while Khushdil Shah has been moved to the reserves. Sarfaraz and Haider replace Azam Khan and Mohammad Hasnain respectively.

“After reviewing player performances in the highly competitive National T20 and in consultation with the team management, we have decided to include Haider Ali, Fakhar Zaman and Sarfaraz Ahmed in the squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021,” chief selector Muhammad Wasim said. “The three in-form players bring with them a wealth of experience and talent and provide further stability, balance and strength to the side.

“It must be tough for Azam, Khushdil and Hasnain to be missing out but they still have a lot to offer in their careers. They are in our future plans as a lot of cricket has to be played post the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 and in the lead up to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia,” added Wasim.

Pakistan will begin their T20 World Cup campaign in a high-profile clash against India on October 24 in Dubai.

Pakistan’s 15-member squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan (VC), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood.

Traveling reserves – Khushdil Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir.

Get the latest update on IPL 2021England vs India 2021, and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts