Home Cricket News Tainted Mohammad Amir returns to Pakistan squad after 5 year ban

Tainted Mohammad Amir returns to Pakistan squad after 5 year ban


Tainted Mohammad Amir returns to Pakistan squad after 5 year ban: PCB announced the squads for Pakistan’s limited-overs tour of New Zealand this January. Mohammad Amir has been named in both the squads as court cleared his path to return to international arena. The left-arm pacer completed his five-year ban for spot-fixing scandals couple of months ago.

Many former and current Pakistani players have protested against the youngster under spotlight at his inclusion in the camp earlier. Azhar Ali who intended to resign as skipper to boycott Amir, remains in charge of the ODI team. Mohammad Hafeez who also joined Azhar was named in both the squads.

Mohammad Amir was one of three Pakistan players jailed for his part in a spot-fixing to bowl deliberate no-balls against England in 2010, when he was only 18.

Mohammad Amir”s inclusion post his 5 year ban has raised a lot of mixed reaction in the cricketing fraternity

The Pakistan Cricket Board however said it is dependent on him receiving a visa from the New Zealand government.

Veteran fast bowler Umar Gul also makes a comeback. The 31-year-old who has taken 173 ODI, 163 Test and 83 T20I wickets, missed out since April this year when he toured Bangladesh. On the contrary, Pakistan’s in-form bowler, Yasir Shah missed the cut as he has been hindered by doping controversy.

Haroon Rasheed, the PCB chief selector has also revealed that Amir’s case is all done from Pakistan’s side, and it has been forwarded to the New Zealand’s consulate. In case Amir fails to get visa, PCB will name a replacement later, according to Rasheed.

Pakistan are to play three Twenty20 Internationals and three One-Day Internationals in New Zealand starting from January 15.

Mohammed Aamer has appeared in 15 ODIs and 18 T20Is for Pakistan so far. He scalped 25 wickets in the ODIs and 23 T20I wickets and has the potential of being a match-winner on a given day.

Squad for T20s: Shahid Afridi (capt), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Shoaib Malik, Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Akmal, Imad Wasim, Iftikhar Ahmed, Anwar Ali, Aamer Yamin, Sarfraz Ahmed, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Umar Gul, Mohammad Rizwan, Saad Nasim,

Squad for ODIs: Azhar Ali (capt), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Shoaib Malik, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Sarfraz Ahmed, Sohaib Maqsood, Zafar Gohar, Anwar Ali, Imad Wasim, Wahab Raiz, Mohammad Amir, Rahat Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Rizwan.


Latest Posts