Home Cricket News Tamil Nadu Announce Squad For Vijay Hazare Trophy; T Natarajan Included

Tamil Nadu Announce Squad For Vijay Hazare Trophy; T Natarajan Included

India's Predicted Playing XI
T. Natarajan (Credits: Cricket Australia/Getty Images)

Team India’s new pace sensation T Natarajan has been included as Tamil Nadu announced their squad for the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy. Dinesh Karthik & Co will look to complete a clean sweep in domestic limited-overs cricket after winning the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Veteran wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik will continue to lead the side with senior batsman Baba Aparajith working as his deputy. Meanwhile, Natarajan has been a valuable addition to the squad. The left-arm pacer grabbed the headlines by becoming the first Indian cricketer to make his debut across all the formats during the Australia tour.

Tamil Nadu names T Natarajan in Vijay Hazare Trophy squad

T Natarajan was a part of the playing XI that won the historic match at the Gabba to retain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. However, Tamil Nadu is still awaiting BCCI’s nod to play the young fast bowler in Vijay Hazare Trophy said Tamil Nadu chief selector S Vasudevan.

Also Read: Prithvi Shaw, Arjun Tendulkar Included Among 100 Players Selected For Vijay Hazare Trophy Camp

“Yes, we have selected Natarajan but the BCCI has to give the go-ahead for him to play in the tournament as they want to keep him fresh for the ODIs and T20s against England, he told PTI.

Meanwhile, Tamil Nadu will be without the services of all-rounder Vijay Shankar, Sandeep Warrier, and Jagannath Srinivas, who were in the SMAT squad. Shankar sustained an injury in the first game and missed the rest of the team’s victorious campaign, while Warrier joined the India team in Chennai as a net bowler for the first two Tests.

On the other hand, making a comeback to the team is medium-pacer K Vignesh, who missed the Mushtaq Ali Trophy after being diagnosed with COVID-19. S Vasudevan said it was a balanced squad with a mix of experience and youth, adding he expected it to do well in the tournament.

Also Read: BCCI Set To Organise Vijay Hazare, Vinoo Mankad Trophy After Success Of Syed Mushtaq Ali

BCCI is yet to announce the dates of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Tamil Nadu squad for Vijay Hazare Trophy: Squad: Dinesh Karthik (Captain), B Aparajith (Vice-Captain), B Indrajith, KB Arun Karthick, C Hari Nishaanth, M Shahrukh Khan, N Jagadeesan, L Suryaprakash, M Kaushik Gandhi, J Kousik, M Ashwin, R Sai Kishore, M Siddharth, R Sonu Yadav, K Vignesh, T Natarajan, A Aswin Crist, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, G Periyasamy and M Mohammed.