India Tour Of Australia 2020-21Cricket News

Team India Players Reach Mumbai, Delhi After Beating Australia

Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Prithvi Shaw along with coach Ravi Shastri landed in Mumbai.

Team India beat Australia for the second time straight in a Test series in Australia. After Virat Kohli’s men beat the Aussies 2-1 in 2018-19, Ajinkya Rahane leading India in the final three Tests as captain has led India to yet another Test series win on Australian soil in 2020-21. After conquering Australia for the second time straight the players of the Indian team returned in Mumbai on Thursday. 

The likes of Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Prithvi Shaw along with coach Ravi Shastri landed in Mumbai. While Indian wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant landed in Delhi. 

“I am so happy that we retained the trophy. The whole team is very happy with the way we played the series” told Rishabh Pant to ANI upon his return in Delhi. 

Only two Indian players, Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara played all four Test matches. India played the final Test match with an almost second string bowling line-up. The Indian bowling attack had a coupled experience of just four Test matches after Ravichandran Ashwin too was ruled out of the final Test. 

ALl the senior bowlers were ruled out due to various injuries during the course of the Test series. KL Rahul too was ruled out of the final two Test matches after injuring his wrist in a practice session. Virat Kohli had already returned to India by then. India tried a few combinations up at the top with finally Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill making substantial contributions in the final two Test matches. 

Also Read: India vs England 2021 Series To Be Played At Three Venues

Team India Look Forward To England Series

India will play England next in a full-fledged series. England will tour India between February 5 to March 28 for four Tests, five T20Is and three ODIs. Chennai will host the first two Tests. The third Test in Ahmedabad will be a day-night Test match between both teams. The final Test will be played at the newly built stadium in Ahmedabad as well. All the five T20Is will be hosted in Ahmedabad, while the three ODIs will be played in Pune. With the series set to begin on February 05, the Indian players are expected to regroup by January 29.

Also Read: IPL 2021 Auction: Franchisees To Complete Retention Process By January 20



Anshuman Roy

A cricket and sports enthusiast having previously worked with Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint and now with Cricfit.

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: