Home Cricket News The Complete Roster of Players Acquired In The SA20 Auction

The Complete Roster of Players Acquired In The SA20 Auction

The Complete Roster of Players Acquired In The SA20 Auction

The SA20 auction of 2024 unfolded yesterday, September 27th, in Johannesburg, where six franchises assembled their teams, occupying previously vacant slots. This mini-auction drew players from various corners of the globe, all vying for contracts.

What stands out is that not a single Sri Lankan player secured a deal in the SA20 auction 2024. Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Dilshan Madushanka were already signed by Durban’s Super Giants, but notable talents like Chamika Karunaratne, Akila Dananajaya, and Nuwanindu Fernando failed to attract any bids.

The costliest acquisitions were Matthew Boast and Dayyan Galiem. Pretoria Capitals secured Boast for ₹69.36 lakh, while Joburg Super Kings added Galiem to their roster at the same price point.

Caribbean all-rounder Romario Shepherd found a new home with the Super Kings, fetching ₹36.85 lakh, while JSK also welcomed Wayne Madsen for the same sum. The Sunrisers Eastern Cape team made a notable expenditure of ₹26 lakh to bring Bayers Swanepoel into their ranks.

The SA20 auction 2024 held in Johannesburg witnessed an array of franchise movements and price tags, with Sri Lankan players notably missing out on contracts.

List of players sold at SA20 Auction 2024 categorized by teams

Durban’s Super Giants: Jason Smith – R 175,000Bryce Parsons (Rookie)

Joburg Super Kings: Wayne Madsen – R 850,000Dayyan Galiem – R 1.6 millionRomario Shepherd -R 850,000Ronan Hermann (Rookie)

MI Cape Town: Chris Benjamin – R 175,000Nealan van Heerden – R 175,000Thomas Kaber – R 175,000Connor Esterhuizen (Rookie)

Paarl Royals: John Turner – R 425,000Lorcan Tucker – R 175,000Lhuan-dre Pretorius (Rookie)

Pretoria Capitals: Paul Stirling – R 425,000Kyle Verreyne – R 175,000Matthew Boast – R 1.6 millionDaryn Dupavillon – R 600,000Steve Stolk (Rookie)

Sunrisers Eastern Cape: Caleb Seleka – R 175,000Beyers Swanepoel – R 600,000Andile Simelane (Rookie)

MI Cape Town – Kieron PollardDurban’s Super Giants – Nicholas PooranJoburg Super Kings – Imran TahirPaarl Royals – Fabian Allen

Before SA20 2024, six teams had the opportunity to secure a wildcard player. Here is the comprehensive roster of wildcard selections.

Pretoria Capitals have not yet disclosed their wildcard choice. In the inaugural season, they opted for all-rounder Senuran Muthusamy as their wildcard pick.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts