Home Cricket News Triangular Series : South Africa A beat India A in low scoring...

Triangular Series : South Africa A beat India A in low scoring thriller

South Africa A started their tri-series campaign on a positive note by beating India A in the opening match played at Pretoria. South Africa A won the toss and elected to bowl, the bowlers did justice with captain’s decision bowling out India A for 152. Chasing this target, South Africa A struggled but contributions from Behardien and Pretorius helped the hosts to win the match by 2 wickets.

South Africa A captain K Zondo won the toss and elected to field. The Indian innings got off to a worse start losing the wicket of Sanju Samson and Iyer at the score of 7 runs. Karun Nair and captain Manish Pandey steadied the innings scoring, 30 runs for 2 in the first 10 overs. Both of them added 42 runs for the third wicket before Nair was dismissed for 25. Risbabh Pant, Krunal

Risbabh Pant, Krunal Pandya, and Axar Patel went in quick succession to leave India A at 89 for 6 in the 27th over. The 7th wicket partnership of Pandey and Chahal added 38 runs for the seventh wicket. Pandey completed his half century in 86 balls. He was finally dismissed for 55. Yuzvendra Chahal remained not out on 24 as India A were bowled out for 152 in 41.5 overs.

Chasing the paltry target of 153, Mohammed Siraj struck by taking the wicket of Henry Davids in the second over. Paterson scored 11 runs in 7 balls before being dismissed by Shardul Thakur. The teams went for a break at the score of 16 for 2 in 5 overs. After the break, Klaasen and Reeza Hendricks put the pressure on India A bowlers adding 26 runs for the third wicket.

At the end of first 10 overs, South Africa A were 42 for 3. Khaya Zondo and Klaasen added 24 runs for the fourth wicket before 2 wickets fell in quick succession to leave hosts in trouble at 71 for 5. Behardien and Dwayne Pretorius steadied the innings with an important 62 run partnership for the sixth wicket. Chahal picked 3 quick wickets but Behradien ensured that South Africa A won the match by 2 wickets.

South Africa A 153 for 8 in 37.4 overs (Pretorious 38, Behradien 37*, Chahal 3/41) beat India A 152 in 41.5 overs (Manish Pandey 55, Nair 25, AM Phangiso 4/30) by 2 wickets.

India A play their next match against Afghanistan A on 28th July