Trinbago Knight Riders Release Pravin Tambe, Tim Seifert Ahead Of CPL 2021 Draft

    CPL 2021 Trinbago Knight Riders
    Trinbago Knight Riders lifted CPL 2020 title (Credit: Twitter)

    Defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders have released four cricketers ahead of the upcoming draft of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL). The Kieron Pollard-led side, who won the championship as undefeated has retained their core group of players for the next season of the tournament.

    Meanwhile, the Knight Riders were unbeaten in CPL 2020 having won all their group games to progress through to the knockout stages. They defeated Jamaica Tallawahs in the semifinal before thrashing St Lucia Zouks by eight wickets to lift the prestigious trophy. The defending champions will look to retain the trophy in CPL 2021 scheduled to take place later this year.

    Trinbago Knight Riders release four cricketers ahead of CPL 2021

    Going into the next season, Trinbago Knight Riders have let go of veteran leg-spinner Pravin Tambe, Kiwi wicketkeeper Tim Seifert, Australian leggie Fawad Ahmed, and Trinidadian wicketkeeper Amir Jangoo. Meanwhile, Fawad Ahmed’s exclusion comes as a choker after his brilliant run in the last CPL.

    Australian leg-spinner Fawad Ahmed was the leading wicket-taker for the side in last year’s edition of the Caribbean Premier League. He picked up 13 wickets in 11 matches, conceding runs at an economy rate of 6.55.

    They also announced the signing of veteran wicket-keeper batter Denesh Ramdin on April 30. TKR traded their veteran all-rounder Dwayne Bravo to St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots and signed Ramdin in the player transfer.

    Players Retained by Trinbago Knight Riders: Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Colin Munro, Darren Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Khary Pierre, Sikandar Raza, Anderson Phillip, Denesh Ramdin, Tion Webster, Akeal Hosein, Jayden Seales, Ali Khan.

    Players Released by Trinbago Knight Riders: Pravin Tambe, Tim Seifert, Fawad Ahmed, Amir Jangoo.