Home Cricket News Two Indian Women Cricketers Test Positive For Covid-19 Ahead Of Commonwealth Games...

Two Indian Women Cricketers Test Positive For Covid-19 Ahead Of Commonwealth Games 2022

India women's team
Photo: BCCI Women, Twitter

In a major blow to the Indian women’s team, two players have tested positive for the covid-19 virus ahead of the Commonwealth Games 2022 in Birmingham. The players have stayed back in India, while the rest of the squad left for the global event on Sunday. India will kick off their campaign on July 29 against Australia at Edgbaston in Birmingham.

Before flying to the United Kingdom, the Indian players trained at the National Cricket Academy (NCA). Earlier the Board of Control for Cricket in India President Sourav Ganguly had confirmed that one of the members of the Indian team has tested positive. However, the total has not risen to two players. Both the players have stayed back in India.

“A second player has tested positive for COVID-19 and it happened before departure. Both the players remain in India,” an Indian Olympic Association official told PTI.

While there is no official statement from the BCCI, Sportstar has reported that one of the players is a middle-order batter, while the other is an all-rounder. Both the players are expected to join the Indian squad in Birmingham after testing negative for the virus.

A BCCI source added: “As per protocol, both players can only join the team once they test negative.” 

India’s squad and schedule for the Commonwealth Games 2022

The Women’s T20 cricket will be making its debut at the Commonwealth Games this year. Earlier, the men’s teams played an ODI tournament at the 1998 Kuala Lumpur Commonwealth Games. India is in Group A alongside Australia, Pakistan, and Barbados.

The Harmanpreet Kaur-led team will be playing on July 29 against Australia in their opening clash of the tournament. It will be followed by a match against arch-rivals Pakistan on July 31. They will play their final league game on August 3 against Barbados. All the matches will take place in Birmingham.

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.