Home Cricket News U19CWC: India U19 Register 203 Runs Victory Over Pakistan; Storm into the Final

U19CWC: India U19 Register 203 Runs Victory Over Pakistan; Storm into the Final


The Indian Under 19 continued their dominating display as they beat Pakistan by 203 runs in the second semi-finals of Under 19 World Cup played at Hagley Oval, Christchurch just a few moments ago.

It was a team effort by as Shubman Gill scored 102* and helped team India post 272. In reply, Pakistan Under 19 was bowled out for just 69 runs.

India Under 19 captain Prithvi Shaw won the toss and elected to bat first. Openers Shaw and Manjot Kalra started on an aggressive note scoring 59 runs in the first 10 overs. Pakistan missed 3 chances in the first 10 overs. Both Shaw and Kalra added 89 runs for opening wicket. 2 quick wickets fell which brought Pakistan into the game. Shubman Gill and Desai played with positive intent adding 54 runs for the third wicket.

India Under 19 team lost wickets at regular intervals. From 166 for 5, Shubman Gill and Anukul Roy added 67 runs for the 6th wicket. Anukul Roy contributed 33 runs while captain Shaw made 41, Kalra scored 47 runs.  Gill completed his fifty off 57 balls, continued to steady the Indian innings. Despite losing wickets, Shubman Gill reached a well-deserved century in the last over. He remained not out on 102 off 94 balls.

Chasing the target of 273, Pakistan were never scoring 28 runs in the first 10 overs and losing 3 wickets. Ishan Porel was the pick of the bowlers taking 4 wickets. Shiva Singh and Riyan Parag took 2 wickets each. Anukul Roy and Abhishek Sharma grabbed 1 wicket each. Pakistan was bundled out for 69 runs in 29.3 overs. The top scorer for Pakistan was Rohail Nazir with 18 runs.

India Under 19 272 for 9 in 50 overs ( Shubman Gill 102*, Manjot Kalra 47, Prithvi Shaw 41, Muhammad Musa 4/67, Arshad Iqbal 3/51) beat

Pakistan Under 19 69 in 29.3 overs ( Rohail Nazir 18, Saad Khan 15, Ishan Porel 4/17, Shiva Singh 2/20, Riyan Parag 2/6) by 203 runs.

Shubman Gill was named as the man of the match for 102 not out.

India Under 19 will take on Australia Under 19 in the finals on 3rd February at Bay Oval, Tauranga. Both India and Australia have won three Under 19 titles each.

Latest Posts