Home Cricket News Uttar Pradesh Announce Squad For Ranji Trophy 2022, Kuldeep Yadav To Lead

Uttar Pradesh Announce Squad For Ranji Trophy 2022, Kuldeep Yadav To Lead

Gautam Gambhir-Kuldeep Yadav
Photo Credit: (BCCI/Twitter)

Discarded Indian spinner Kuldeep Yadav will be leading a strong Uttar Pradesh outfit that has been named for the upcoming Ranji Trophy season. Karn Sharma has been named as his deputy with places available for Bhuvnesshwar Kumar and Saurabh Kumar if they are available for selection.

“Senior Selection Committee of our Association selected following cricketers of our state to represent U.P. Squad for Ranji Trophy,” Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association (UPCA) said in a statement on December 29 (Wednesday).

Uttar Pradesh, who are placed in Elite Group E, will begin their campaign against Odisha from January 13 to 16, followed by fixtures against Baroda (January 20 to 23), Puducherry (January 27 to 30), Chattisgarh (February 3 to 6) and Andhra (February 10 to 13).

Kuldeep Yadav Played His Last Test In 2021 Against England in Chennai

Kuldeep Yadav (Credit: Getty Images)

Kuldeep who has found a tough going in international cricket in the last two to three years will have a point to prove in the domestic tournament. With the IPL 2022 auction coming up, the mystery spinner would like to impress the franchises. He played his last ODI and T20I in the away series against Sri Lanka. However, that came because the main players within the squad were rested for the series.

Kuldeep, who was once considered India’s main spinning option for away Tests, played his last Test against England in February earlier this year in Chennai.

Uttar Pradesh Squad

Kuldeep Yadav (Captain) Karan Sharma (Vice-Captain) Madhav Kaushik, Almas Shaukat, Samarth Singh, Hardeep Singh, Rinku Singh, Priyam Garg, Akshdeep Nath, Sameer Choudhary, Kritagya Singh, Aryan Juyal, Dhruv Chandra Jurel, Shivam Mavi, Ankit Rajpoot, Yash Dayal, Kunal Yadav, Prince Yadav, Rishabh Bansal, Shanu Saini, Jasmer, Zeeshan Ansari, Shivam Sharma, Parth Mishra

Ranji Trophy 2021-22 Groups

Elite A: Gujarat, Punjab, Himachal, Madhya Pradesh, Services and Assam (in Mumbai)

Elite B: Bengal, Vidarbha, Rajasthan, Kerala, Haryana and Tripura(in Bangalore)

Elite C: Karnataka, Delhi, Mumbai, Hyderabad, Maharashtra and Uttarakhand (in Kolkata)

Elite D: Saurashtra, Tamil Nadu, Railways, J & K, Jharkhand and Goa (in Ahmedabad)

Elite E: Andhra, Uttar Pradesh, Baroda, Odisha, Chhattisgarh and Pondicherry (in Trivandrum)

Plate Group: Chandigarh, Meghalaya, Bihar, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim, Arunachal (in Chennai)