Home News Virat Kohli regains the number 1 position in ICC batsmen rankings

Virat Kohli regains the number 1 position in ICC batsmen rankings

© Getty Images

The Indian Test captain Virat Kohli produced a match-winning effort scoring 97 and 103 runs in the 3rd test match played at Trent Bridge, Nottingham in which helped him to regain the number 1 position in latest ICC Test batsmen rankings announced today.

It was a superb performance by the Indian test team who showed brilliant class during the 3rd test match. He has been in extraordinary form during the 3 test matches so far scoring 440 runs. Virat Kohli is just one point behind of all time rating points list which includes Don Bradman 961 points, Steve Smith (947 points), Jack Hobbs and Ricky Pointing 942 points each, Peter May and Gary Sobers with 941 points each, Clyde Walcott, Vivan Richards and Kumar Sangakkara with 938 points each.

Virat Kohli helped team India win the match by 203 runs and keep the series alive 1-2 in favour of England. The Indian captain was displaced by Steve Smith after a disappointing 2nd test match performance at Lords.

He broke the record of most rating points by Indian player with 934 after the first test played at Edgbaston.

Steve Smith has moved down to number 2 in the rankings. New Zealand captain Kane Williamson has gained one place up to number 3. David Warner also gains one spot up to number 4.

England captain Joe Root has slipped down to number 5th due to poor performance in the 3rd test match played at Trent Bridge. Cheteshwar Pujara retains his number 6th position with a solid 72 runs in 2nd innings of a 3rd test match.

Sri Lanka’s Dimuth Karunarante and Dinesh Chandimal retain their number 7th and 8th position in latest ICC Test batsmen rankings.

South Africa’s Dean Elgar and Aiden Markram complete the top 10 batting rankings.

Latest ICC Test batsmen rankings

  1. Virat Kohli ( India)- 937
  2. Steve Smith ( Australia)- 929
  3. Kane Williamson ( New Zealand)- 847
  4. David Warner ( Australia)- 820
  5. Joe Root ( England)- 818
  6. Cheteshwar Pujara ( India)- 763
  7. Dimuth Karunaratne ( Sri Lanka)- 754
  8. Dinesh Chandimal ( Sri Lanka)- 733
  9. Dean Elgar ( South Africa)- 724
  10. Aiden Markram ( South Africa)- 703