Virat Kohli’s absence from the last three Test matches against Australia will cost channel 7 around $450million deal with Cricket Australia. Channel 7 will be broadcasting the Test series while, Fox Sports, the limited-overs leg of the series. As per reports in Yahoo Sports, Channel 7 have expressed their displeasure at Kohli missing the remaining three Tests. They have further said that their promotions for the Test series which were built around Kohli vs Australia will now have to be amended.

Virat Kohli along with the members of Team India landed in Sydney on November 12. The series starts with the ODIs, followed by the T20Is. The four-match Test series will conclude India’s journey down under. Meanwhile, Kohli will be playing the full-limited-overs leg of the series, while only the first Test sue to his parental leave.

Also Read: Team India Reach Australia For Full-Fledged Tour

Virat Kohli’s Absence to Cost Channel 7

Channel Seven is also worried with their viewership margins for the Boxing Day Test match as well which India will play without Virat Kohli. The Indian skipper had had a rich history of television viewership in the past, which will take a huge hit in his absence.

Meanwhile, Channell 7 also pulled out of a $450 million deal with CA earlier this year after they predicted lack of viewership due to the absence of international cricketers from the tournament. They also expressed their disappointment over the rescheduling of the New Year’s Test From January 2 to 7 as it will be past the holiday season.

Also Read: India’s Tour of Australia 2020-21 Live Streaming Details



1st ODI, Sydney, 27th November- 9:10 am IST

2nd ODI, Sydney, 29th November- 9:10 am IST

 3rd ODI, Canberra, 1st December – 9:10 am IST


1st T20I, Canberra, 3rd December – 1:40 pm IST

2nd T20I, Sydney, 5th December – 1:40 pm IST

3rd T20I, Sydney, 7th December – 1:40 pm IST


1st Test, Adelaide (D/N Test), 16-20th December – 9:30 am IST

2nd Test, Melbourne, 25-29th December – 5:00 am IST

3rd Test, Sydney, 7th-11th January – 5:00 am IST

4th Test, Brisbane, 15th-19th January – 5:00 am IST