IPLCricket News

Wasim Jaffer Responds To A Fan Who Wants KL Rahul To Be Traded To RCB

KL Rahul ended IPL 2020 as the top-scorer with 670 runs in the season.

Kings XI Punjab batting coach Wasim Jaffer has responded to a fan who has asked the franchise to release skipper KL Rahul so that RCB can take him back in IPL 2021 auction. The franchise released nine players including names like Glenn Maxwell and Jimmy Neesham in the IPL 2021 retention window. The franchise has decided to stick with coach Anil Kumble and Rahul as skipper for the next season. Rahul ended IPL 2020 as the top-scorer in with 670 runs in the season.

Meanwhile, some of the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) fans tweeted to Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) batting coach Wasim Jaffer, asking the former Indian opener to release two big players in KL Rahul and Chris Gayle and return them back to the Virat Kohli-led side. Both the players were a part of the franchise for a couple of seasons in the IPL. 

Wasim Jaffer Responds To A Fan’s Query on KL Rahul

“Sir kl rahul ko wapis rcb me de do plzzzzzzzz,” wrote one of the RCB fans. “Fir hamare pass kya bachega,” Jaffer responded.

Another fan asked Jaffer to give back Gayle to RCB. “Atleast, give us Gayle,” he tweeted. On this occasion, Jaffer responded with one of Gayle’s images in KXIP jersey.

Ahead of the IPL 2021 auction, KXIP released as many as nine players while retaining 16 players. The big name that the franchise has decided to release is Glenn Maxwell. The Australian had a dismal last IPL season and the franchise has finally decided to free him before the auction.

“The plan was to keep the core of the team, and make sure the players who were part of the team last season will continue this year as well. We believe that this group along with whoever we pick at the auctions to fill those gaps will be able to turn things around for Kings XI Punjab,” Head Coach Anil Kumble said after the retention was completed.

Retained Players: KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Nicholas Pooran, Mandeep Singh, Sarfaraz Khan, Deepak Hooda, Prabhsimran Singh, Mohammed Shami, Chris Jordan, Darshan Nalkande, Ravi Bishnoi, Murugan Ashwin, Arshdeep Singh, Harpreet Brar, Ishan Porel

Released Players: Glenn Maxwell, Karun Nair, Hardus Viljoen, Jagadeesha Suchith, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Sheldon Cottrell, Jimmy Neesham, Krishnappa Gowtham, Tajinder Singh

Also Read: IPL 2021: Full List Of Released Players Of All Franchises


Anshuman Roy

A cricket and sports enthusiast having previously worked with Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint and now with Cricfit.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Wasim Jaffer Responds To A Fan Who Wants KL Rahul To Be Traded To RCB