Cricket News

West Indies Announce Squad For Sri Lanka Series; Chris Gayle Returns

The Universe Boss Chris Gayle has been recalled to the West Indies squad for the series against Sri Lanka as the 41-year-old eyes a place in the ICC T20 World Cup squad scheduled to take place later this year in India. West Indies will play a three-match T20I series against the Islanders starting from March 3 (Wednesday) in Antigua.

The dashing opening batsman from Jamaica played the last of his 58 T20 internationals against England on home turf in March 2019. Chris Gayle wants to help the side from the Caribbeans successfully defend the title in India.

Chris Gayle returns to West Indies squad

Speaking on Gayle’s selection in the squad after a gap of two years, chief selector Roger Harper said that the veteran cricketer has been in electrifying form in recent times and the panel thinks the southpaw can still add value to the side.

“As we build towards the defence of the T20 World Cup, the opportunity is being taken to determine our best team and squad as we go forward,” said chief selector Roger Harper.

“Chris Gayle has performed very well in recent tournaments and the selection panel thinks that he can still add great value to our team,” he added.

Also Read

Chris Gayle Reveals His Top Three Picks In His T20 XI, Includes One Star Indian Batsman

Along with Chris Gayle, West Indies have also recalled 39-year-old fast bowler Fidel Edwards, who hasn’t represented his country since 2012. Meanwhile, all-rounder Andre Russell will miss the T20Is as he continues to recover from the COVID-19 he sustained earlier this month.

A West Indies spokesman added that fast bowlers Sheldon Cottrell and Oshane Thomas, along with batsman Shimron Hetmyer and all-rounder Roston Chase have all failed to reach the minimum fitness standard in time to be considered for selection.

The T20Is will take place on March 3, 5, and 7 at the Coolidge Cricket Ground in Antigua. On the other hand, the three ODIs will also be played in Antigua at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium on March 10, 12, and 14.

Also Read

Predicted XI Of Delhi Capitals For IPL 2021

West Indies T20I squad: Kieron Pollard (captain), Nicholas Pooran (vice-captain), Fabien Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Rovman Powell, Lendl Simmons, Kevin Sinclair.

West Indies ODI squad: Kieron Pollard (captain), Shai Hope (vice-captain), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Kyle Mayers, Jason Mohammed, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Kevin Sinclair.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker