Cricket News

Yusuf Pathan Joins Indian Legends Squad For World Safety Series After Announcing International Retirement

The Roald Safety Series kicks off on March 5 at Raipur's Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium. 

Former Indian all-rounder Yusuf Pathan has announced his retirement from all forms of cricket. Yusuf was a part of two-World Cup-winning teams in 2007 and 2011 under the leadership of MS Dhoni. Having made his ODI debut in 2008, he played 57 ODIs and 22 T20Is for India. He also shared the dressing room with his younger brother Irfan Pathan and played a few matches together as well.

He took to Twitter to announce his international retirement and thank his fans as well. “I thank my family, friends, fans, teams, coaches and the whole country wholeheartedly for all the support and love. #retirement,” wrote Pathan.

Yusuf Pathan Joins Indian Legends

Meanwhile, immediately after announcing his international retirement Yusuf Pathan joined the Indian Legends squad for Road Safety Series 2021. Yusuf will play along with brother Irfan, Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag and a number of other legends.

Also Read: Predicted Playing XI of KKR in IPL 2021

Apart from his credentials as an international cricketer, he was one of the most sought out players in the IPL. He won the first edition of the IPL with Rajasthan Royals in 2008. Having joined KKR in 2011, he won two titles with the franchise as well in 2012 and 2014. Yusuf played 57 ODIs and 22 T20Is for the country, accumulating 810 runs and 236 runs respectively. He also bowled off-spin and took 46 international wickets. Yusuf represented Baroda in domestic cricket. Pathan played 100 first-class matches, 199 List A matches and 274 T20s.

The Roald Safety Series kicks off on March 5. The matches will be played at Raipur’s Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium. 

India Legends squad: Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Mohammed Kaif, Yusuf Pathan, Naman Ojha, Zaheer Khan, Pragyan Ojha, Noel David, Munaf Patel, Irfan Pathan, Manpreet Gony

Also Read: Vinay Kumar Announces Retirement From All Forms Of Cricket

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker