Home Cricket News West Indies Announce T20I Squad Against India; Kieron Pollard To Lead

West Indies Announce T20I Squad Against India; Kieron Pollard To Lead

West Indies
(Credit: Getty Images)

Cricket West Indies has announced an unchanged squad from the England series for the upcoming T20Is against India. The team from the Caribbean Islands will tour India for a three-match ODI series followed by the same number of T20Is.

While Chris Gayle continues to miss out, senior statesman Kieron Pollard has been retained as captain. On the other hand, young batting prodigy Nicholas Pooran will be the vice-captain of the West Indies T20I side on their tour of India.

West Indies are currently playing against England and will look to continue the momentum against India as they aim for the T20 World Cup scheduled to take place later this year in Australia.

“The team has been doing well in the Betway T20I Series against England in Barbados and we decided to stick with the same group of players. They have demonstrated great skill and fight and we expect the same kind of performances on the tour of India,” chief selector Desmond Haynes said. 

Also Read: Harsha Bhogle Picks Two Players Who Will Fetch Big Deals In IPL 2022 Auction

West Indies have picked a squad that is a mix of youth and experience. The likes of Roston Chase, Jason Holder, and Pollard will add experience to the team.

The ODIs will take place in Ahmedabad on February 6, 9 and 11, followed by the T20Is on February 16, 18 and 20 at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

West Indies T20I Squad: Kieron Pollard (c), Nicholas Pooran, Fabien Allen, Darren Bravo, Roseton Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell, Romario Shephard, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.