Home IPL Which Cricketer Scored Fastest Century In IPL

Which Cricketer Scored Fastest Century In IPL

Which Cricketer Scored Fastest Century In IPL

Century In IPL – The Indian Premier League is one of the most popular leagues around the world with many international and Indian stars taking part since its inception in 2008. It has been a great tournament as Mumbai Indians has won the IPL title 5 times, Chennai Super Kings 4, Kolkata Knight Riders twice, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Deccan Chargers, and Rajasthan Royals one time each.

Under the captaincy of Hardik Pandya, Gujarat Titans made its debut in IPL in 2022 and won it on their maiden occasion. Many international stars from West Indies, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and New Zealand created an impact with their special innings.

The batters in Indian Premier League enjoy themselves and play some special innings, especially international players.

Here we look at the cricketer which scored the fastest century in IPL history.

Chris Gayle 

Chris Gayle has been an entertainer in Indian Premier League history. He achieved the feat of the fastest century against Pune Warriors India on 23 April 2013. It was a remarkable knock by West Indies legend smashing 100 off just 30 balls.

Chris Gayle hit the fastest century in IPL history

Gayle hit the highest-ever individual score of 175 in that match. He hammered the Pune Warriors India bowlers remaining not out on 175 off 66 deliveries with 13 fours and 17 huge sixes that helped Royal Challengers Bangalore post 263 for 5 in 20 overs. For his brilliance, Chris Gayle was named the player of the match award.

Chris Gayle made his IPL debut in 2009 for Kolkata Knight Riders. He played a total of 142 matches with 4965 runs including 6 centuries and 31 half-centuries.

From 2011 till 2017, Chris Gayle was a part of the Royal Challengers Bangalore side that included Virat Kohli and AB de Villers. He was bought by the Punjab Kings franchise in 2018 and played till 2021.

He did not feature in the 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League. Chris Gayle another brilliant century off 46 balls against Punjab Kings at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore on 6 May 2015. He made 117 during that knock.

Gayle posted quickfire century against Punjab Kings at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore on 6 May 2011. He blasted century off 46 deliveries that helped RCB post a massive total.

Gayle showed his class with another brilliant century against Delhi Daredevils on 17 May 2012 at Arun Jaitley Stadium, New Delhi. He scored century off 53 deliveries and eventually remained not out on 128 off 62 deliveries with 7 fours and 13 sixes.

He was at his supreme best with century for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Kolkata Knight Riders on 22 April 2011. Gayle hit 100 off 55 deliveries and helped RCB register a commanding win.

Chris Gayle proved his worth one more time with another brilliant century for Punjab Kings against Sunrisers Hyderabad on 19 April 2018 at Mohali. He completed his 100 off 58 deliveries and remained not out with 104 off 63 balls not out with 1 four and 11 sixes helping PBKS win the match easily.

Chris Gayle known for his power-hitter smashed the bowlers all over the park. He was awarded the Orange Cap award twice in 2011 and 2012.

He smashed 608 runs from 12 matches for Royal Challengers Bangalore. Gayle then followed with 733 runs from 15 matches for RCB.

Gayle had won the Maximum sixes award for three successive years in IPL history. He hit a total of 44 sixes in 2011, 59 from 15 matches in 2012, and 51 from 16 matches in 2013. The Gayle storm showed his domination with the bat again hitting 38 sixes in 14 matches during the 2015 edition.

Before Chris Gayle, Yusuf Pathan had the record of the fastest century for Rajasthan Royals against Mumbai Indians on 13 March 2010 at Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts