Home Cricket News Why Mohammad Nabi Is Not Playing MI vs KKR IPL 2024 Match?

Why Mohammad Nabi Is Not Playing MI vs KKR IPL 2024 Match?

Why Mohammad Nabi Is Not Playing MI vs KKR IPL 2024 Match?

Mohammad Nabi‘s absence from the IPL 2024 Match 51 between MI and KKR has raised questions. With Mumbai Indians languishing at the ninth spot on the points table, they are in dire need of a win. The clash took place at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on May 3, where MI won the toss and elected to bowl first on a pitch described as having variable pace, according to pitch reports.

In a strategic move aimed at bolstering their batting lineup, Mumbai Indians made a solitary change to their squad, with Hardik Pandya announcing Naman Dhir as the replacement for Mohammad Nabi. This decision underscores MI’s determination to shore up their batting resources. On the flip side, KKR skipper Shreyas Iyer acknowledged the potential impact of dew in the game but expressed satisfaction with setting a target.

Opting for consistency, KKR retained the same lineup for the encounter against MI. While MI seeks redemption at the bottom of the table, KKR, comfortably perched at third place, aims to consolidate their playoff berth. “We will bowl. It’s always about playing for pride, it looks quite tough for us but at the same time, we want to play good cricket, feels good to be back home. Looks like a good track, it’s a fresh wicket so thought that bowling first will be good.”

“Only one change, Naman Dhir comes in place of Nabi,” explained Pandya during the toss, shedding light on MI’s strategy. It’s always about doing the small things well, obviously the dew is a factor but we have to keep that out of mind. The message is clear, each one of them knows their role and responsibility. Batting first we are going with the same team,” emphasized Iyer, articulating KKR’s approach.

The playing XIs for both teams reflected their respective strategies and strengths. KKR fielded Philip Salt, Sunil Narine, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Vaibhav Arora, and Varun Chakaravarthy.

Meanwhile, MI comprised Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Nehal Wadhera, Hardik Pandya, Naman Dhir, Tim David, Gerald Coetzee, Piyush Chawla, Jasprit Bumrah, and Nuwan Thushara.

The impact subs for both teams, including Anukul Roy, Manish Pandey, Srikar Bharat, Sherfane Rutherford, and Chetan Sakariya for KKR, and Rohit Sharma, Shams Mulani, Shivalik Sharma, Dewald Brevis, and Romario Shepherd for MI, underscored the depth and versatility of their respective benches.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts