Home Cricket News World T20: A look at all Man of the Tournament awardees so far in the mega event

World T20: A look at all Man of the Tournament awardees so far in the mega event


World T20: A look at all Man of the Tournament awardees so far in the mega event: The sixth edition of the ICC World T20 hosted by India has begun with ample enthusiasm and excitement revolving around the shortest format of the game. All the five previous editions of the event witnessed and presented some of the finest individual efforts in the departments of batting, bowling and fielding. While some of those acts were detrimental in deciding the fortunes of the respective teams, others have simply withered away for they were not as impactful and effective for the teams in the long run. In this feature, we throw a glance the names of five cricketers who not only have fascinated the cricketing world with their startling performances but have also contributed to their teams’ success stories. Let us take a look at the recipients of the ‘Player of the Tournament’ award in the years gone by.

  1. SHAHID AFRIDI (2007)


Pakistan’s fortunes in 2007 were topsy-turvy. After suffering an early exit at the 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup, Pakistan’s progress in international cricket was in a shambles. Moreover, the mysterious death of their erstwhile coach Bob Woolmer during the course of the ICC CWC threatened to propel their opulence into jeopardy. It was not until the commencement of the inaugural edition of the ICC World T20 that a bunch of scoffed individuals began to break out of their individual cocoons and set the arena on fire in a format which aptly suits their style of play. They reached the final with unparalleled affluence, thrashing and whipping opponents en route to the final against arch rivals India at Johannesburg; an opposition against whom they had lost their sole outing in the tournament, which went down to a bowl out contest after the game was tied. Even though they couldn’t cross the finish line in the final, their display was duly recognised by all and the man who steered the team into the final was their talismanic all-rounder Shahid Afridi. Thus, it didn’t come as a surprise that he was adjudged the Man of the Tournament for his 91 runs and 12 wickets. He failed to create any significant impact in the final where he scored a golden duck and went wicketless. While many would have anticipated Yuvraj Singh to clinch the award, Afridi’s all-round show and a bulk of scalps in the wicket’s column did the trick for him. Afridi is the sole player in T20Is to have the distinction of scoring over 1000 runs and scalping more than 50 wickets.

Latest Posts